Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

Chris8920

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Mar 20, 2008
Hey,

I’m really interested in the new 2016 MacBook Pro base model without the touch bar (I’m not so keen on the touch bar apart from touch ID, but hopefully touch ID would be synced up to the iPhone for logging into sites or any laptop similar to the apple watch) but I was looking for some help.

I currently own a 2009 MacBook Pro and a few years ago it was really slow until I upgraded it the HDD to SSD and it made a massive difference in performance. I am a graphic designer/web developer and I need to upgrade as I can’t use Docker because the processor isn’t supported. Also when I run multiple applications like Spotify, Chrome, Illustrator and Sketch at the same time the songs start to skip in Spotify and it becomes a bit sluggish in some apps (I’m not sure if this is a RAM issue?).

1. Would I experience any choppiness like the problem above with 8GB of RAM in the new MacBook Pro, or is this because the processor is very old?

2. The lack of ports aren’t really an issue for me as long as I can connect one cable to a monitor such as the LG 27UD68-W which delivers power, display and audio to a set of external speakers. Should this be possible at 60Hz 4k, or was the 60Hz issue only a problem for the MacBook?

3. Also, I don’t game on my PC often but I wouldn’t mind playing CS:GO or Starcraft 2 casually (doesn’t have to be 4K), would this machine run these games around 30-60fps? I really like the look for this monitor but I’ve heard it has a few issues with the USB C port not working after a while.

4. I’m not in a big rush to get one, I could hold out a bit more. Do you think I’m better waiting for the upgrade this year (hopefully around April or this summer) and waiting for a better deal on the refurb or get the latest version with a better graphics card?

Thanks,
Chris

Sanpete

macrumors 68040