MacBook Pro 3.06GHz, Modern Warfare 2

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by ojwk, Oct 11, 2009.

  1. ojwk macrumors regular

    ojwk

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2007
    Location:
    London
    #1
    Any chance that Modern Warfare 2 will be playable at 1440 by 900 in bootcamp?

    3.06GHz
    4GB DDR3
    9600 GT 512MB
    7,200 RPM HDD

    well... you all know the specs...
     
  2. prodigee macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2009
    Location:
    Brooklyn, NY
    #2
    I would say that on low settings yes you would be able to play MW2.
     
  3. ayeying macrumors 601

    ayeying

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2007
    Location:
    Yay Area, CA
    #3
    I say mid. I could run Modern Warfare at 1280x800 @ low on a 9400M for the MacBook Air so I'd figure the 9600GT which is more powerful than the 9400M running MW2 at a little higher than all low.
     
  4. tempusfugit macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    May 21, 2009
    Location:
    Chicago
  5. ojwk thread starter macrumors regular

    ojwk

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2007
    Location:
    London
    #5
    Huzzah that's most gratifying to know..

    I hear that SSDs don't make much of a difference, what about those Intel X25-E or OCZ SSDs?
     
  6. shambo macrumors 6502a

    shambo

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2009
    #6
    That badboy will happily run anything you throw at it.
     
  7. dukebound85 macrumors P6

    dukebound85

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2005
    Location:
    5045 feet above sea level
    #7
    is this game supposed to be released at the same time as pc?

    im guessing we will have to wait a year or so
     
  8. izibo macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    #8
    SSDs shouldn't make a difference in gameplay since almost everything is cached. It might save you a few seconds of "loading" here and there, but it wouldn't change gameplay.
     
  9. ojwk thread starter macrumors regular

    ojwk

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2007
    Location:
    London
    #9
    Its a moot point now that 15" MBP doesn't have an express card slot, I have a hypothetical question.

    With an eSATA adapter (via express card slot) and an external hard drive, would it be possible to create a 'gaming module' by which Windows is installed as are games and other Windows applications. Your day-to-day Mac would be completely free of all things Windows, and then, when at home with all your gaming paraphernalia, you plug in the 'gaming module' boot into windows and start fragging some Nazis and the like.

    I don't suppose using fw 800 would be appropriate given that the drive would be recognised as external and data rates would be too low?

    Please criticise this to the nth degree, I want to hear why it is a completely stupid idea.
     
  10. ojwk thread starter macrumors regular

    ojwk

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2007
    Location:
    London
    #10
    Thanks, that's good to know.
     
  11. 251920 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2008
    #11
    You can overclock 9600m gt and the game will probably run on high.
     
  12. jav6454 macrumors P6

    jav6454

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2007
    Location:
    1 Geostationary Tower Plaza
    #12
    And say good bye to the great battery life.
     
  13. chachawpi macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2009
    #13
    Because people are going to play demanding 3D games on battery power?
     
  14. 251920 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2008
    #14
    Windows only recognizes 9600m gt and the battery runs for like 2 hours(in widows), overclocking won't change the battery consumption dramatically, but it will increase the graphics output by much and the heat by, about 3-5c.
    The 9600m gt is said to be really well suited for overclocking.
     
  15. dukebound85 macrumors P6

    dukebound85

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2005
    Location:
    5045 feet above sea level
    #15
    Because people are going to continually overclock and then underclock depending what they are going to do?
     
  16. chachawpi macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2009
    #16
    Why would you need to underclock it? He would probably only boot into Windows to play the game anyway.
     
  17. Jack Flash macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    May 8, 2007
    #17
    The 9600M GT will likely run Modern Warfare 2 at ~20 fps with medium-low settings, no anti-aliasing at 1440x900, maybe less.
     
  18. dukebound85 macrumors P6

    dukebound85

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2005
    Location:
    5045 feet above sea level
    #18
    how will an 8800gt do?

    i was merely commenting how when people overclosk, they rarely if ever underclock and as a result, battary life owuld suffer
     
  19. chachawpi macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2009
    #19
    He could, and probably would, just boot back into OS X when done playing the game. Since the overclock is done through Windows software, the battery life in OS X would be exactly the same.
     
  20. Onay macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2009
    #20
    I can run Crysis on XP with my 17" 9600GT 3.06GHz at ~18-20 fps on medium settings. Not sure how taxing the COD engine is since I never installed COD4 on it, but I assume on a medium setting it should run fairly smoothly
     
  21. ojwk thread starter macrumors regular

    ojwk

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2007
    Location:
    London
    #21
    That's extremely impressive.

    The cryengine is renowned for being very GPU intensive whereas Infinity Ward's proprietary engine can trace its roots back to id tech 4, as such demands more from the CPU.

    If you can run crysis at 18-20 FPS I expect MW2 should be substantially better.
     
  22. Cr33pY macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2009
    Location:
    Europe
    #22
    low fps call of duty 4 - modern warefare 2 - macbook pro 17

    Hi i have an macbook pro 17
    3,0ghz
    7200rpm 500gb Disk
    4gb ram
    card nvidia 9600m gt

    not playable on call of duty 4 mwf2 very low fps - even with low resolution as 800x600 or 640x480...

    how can fix this.?

    ?
     
  23. rmbrown09 macrumors 6502a

    rmbrown09

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2010
    #23
    Sorry but gaming is supper dependent on the GPU

    you could have a 2.4 duo and achieve basically the same thing. the 9600 is more or less a weak card.

    the new 330m's are nicer, but even that struggles to run high at 1440
     
  24. zp3dd4 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2009
    #24
    Are you running COD4 in OSX or under Bootcamp? If you are running in OSX, there is your problem.. Apple's nvidia drivers right now are performing significantly worse than the default drivers in bootcamp. I can run Modern Warfare 2, most stuff on High at 1680x1050 in Bootcamp.
     
  25. ri0ku macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2009
    #25
    Yes... it will work

    I run it on my macbook pro at 1440 x 900 at high settings (and I play it quite allot) no lag.. except for the crappy infinity ward "lobby" bollocks
     

Share This Page