MacBook Pro Applications keep crashing and I am LOSING my MIND!

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by wljones, Jan 10, 2011.

1. wljones macrumors newbie

Last week I spent 150.00 to have my MacBook Pro Repaired. I am not very good with this stuff and needed help so....

I have a MacBook Pro Version 10.4.11. with iTunes 9.2.1 (5).

Safari, Firefox, Adobe kept crashing. Then Mail crashed and finally iTunes. The computer said that iTunes was now stored somewhere on my computer in a file that was "damaged".

I took it to the nearest computer repair shop (No Mac store within 100 miles of here) but this store does fix MACS. They checked and repaired file systems, reset components, performed Apple/3rd Party software updates, clean temporary files - Repaired file systems. Archived and reinstalled OS. Reimported iTunes and added 1GB RAM.

Got the computer home and my iPhone wouldn't synch. SO I had to uninstall iTunes and reinstall, then figure out how to get my library back...which I somehow did but don't think I could do again. It's been two days and it is starting all over again.

Today, Firefox and Safari began crashing again and yet once again, iTunes crashed and I have lost my entire library. It is back to the "damaged" place in a mystery file on my computer. 2 times today, I got a role down black screen that said I would have to restart my computer.

So, I have run the Disc Utility - repaired disc permissions (there were none to repair) and don't know what else to do except lose my mind. I have NEVER been so disgusted with this computer. I can't understand why NO ONE has been able to figure this out. Apple wants a gazillion buck to answer by question over the phone I didn't really have the 150.00 to have it "fixed in the first place so Apple's fee might as well be a gazillion $$$. I have looked solutions online and either I can't find one or don't understand what I am reading.