Macbook Pro Core i5 and Macbook Pro Core i7

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by sultansaadat, Feb 2, 2011.

1. sultansaadat macrumors newbie

Hi,
    Guys. I'm planning to buy a macbook pro but i am not able to decide between macbook pro core i5 2.53ghz or core i7 2.66ghz. Although the price difference is of around $300 which i don't have. What do you guys recommend? Plus, i'm a bit confused why do macs have vga cards with 256mb and 512mb when the rest of the world is touching 2gb graphics memory?
    I'm basically a programmer so please give me the best advice that which macbook pro will suit me the most, price wise and other specification details wise.
    Thanks.

2. miles01110 macrumors Core

miles01110

Why does it even matter what we recommend? You clearly stated you cannot afford the i7 for an extra $300. Logic and economics would suggest you should therefore get the i5.

3. MacBookPro13" macrumors 6502a

MacBookPro13"

What he said.

If you don't have the money, why are you even contemplating it?

4. Hellhammer Moderator

Hellhammer

Staff Member

Are you looking at 15" or 17" MBP? I don't think it's worth it in your case to pay extra for the better CPU. If you're looking for 15", just get the 2.4GHz i5.

There are only very few mobile GPUs that even support more than 1GB of VRAM and those are the ultra high-end chips that are only suitable for very big and clumsy laptops. Besides, the amount of VRAM is pretty negligible as the GPU is too slow to use it. There is nearly no difference between 256MB 330M and 512MB 330M in benchmarks.

5. sultansaadat thread starter macrumors newbie

I should go for the base model instead of the 2.53 one? I have heard that the base model has issues? And do you guys recommend using windows 7 on basecamp on an MBP?
    About finances, i can afford an i7 by asking some friend to lend me but is there a considerable difference, benchmarks say 0-6% difference only between 2.53 and core i7 which is not much of course.