Macbook pro integrated vs discrete graphics

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by hassoon, Jan 9, 2014.

1. hassoon macrumors regular

Hi, i want to get a new MacBook Pro late 2013 model. i'm an app developer so i mostly use xCode, Pixelmator, sometimes garageband, and the web simultaneously (the usual working scenario). I want to get the 15'' model as i much comfortable with bigger screens for programming (if you think the opposite tell me why?) i will upgrading from a 2010 macbook pro. So i'm lost between getting the low end or the high end. My only concern is the graphics. Will Iris Pro satisfy my needs as a programmer? is integrated graphics repairable in case of any issue? do you think i should upgrade for the high end model? Thank you!

2. pellets007 macrumors 6502a

pellets007

I do the same things that you do in addition to Blender and such. just bought the "15 base model and was seriously considering the top end model. Couldn't be happier though. It does everything I need and the Iris Pro handles it easily. As much as I wanted the discrete graphics, you and I probably would never use the 750.

3. hassoon thread starter macrumors regular

Thanks for your input. really helped! actually i was somehow concerned about repairability. My current macbook pro has integrated and graphics. Nvidia is panicking when i use xcode and pixelmator together and the integrated Intel shows those crazy coloring bars when i use high graphics as well. wasn't an issue before until lately.

4. pellets007 macrumors 6502a

pellets007

Never had that issue, so I can't really comment. I came from programming on a MacBook 3,1 with terrible Intel graphics. Still ran Blender and Xcode fine though.

5. leman macrumors 604

There are almost no laptops on the market which would be repairable in that regard. MacBooks are no exception. There is warranty to protect you from hardware defects.

6. dusk007 macrumors 68040

dusk007