MacBook Pro Keeps Rebooting

Discussion in 'macOS Sierra (10.12)' started by Laisha, Oct 1, 2016.

  1. Laisha macrumors member

    Laisha

    #1
    Yesterday, my MacBook Pro started acting up.

    For no apparent reason, it sort of pixilated -- though technically that's not what it did, but it looked almost the same -- and froze up. Twice, I forced it to power down by holding the power button off.

    Then today, it did the visual thing but rebooted.

    Then the apple came on, and it got about 3/4 of the way through the check and rebooted. It's looped.

    I tried to get it into safe mode, but it refuses.

    Help!
     
  2. Laisha thread starter macrumors member

    Laisha

    #3
    Thanks. But this doesn't work for me.

    This MacBook Pro does not have a removable battery, and as I said in my OP, it won't boot all the way up. It does nothing but reboot.
     
  3. CoastalOR macrumors 68000

    CoastalOR

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2015
    Location:
    Oregon, USA
    #4
  4. DeltaMac macrumors 604

    DeltaMac

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2003
    Location:
    Delaware
    #5
    A Late 2011, 15-inch MBPro, will likely be troubled by graphics issues.
    A failed graphics chip can exhibit a number of symptoms, one of them being unexpected reboots.
    Apple will replace the logic board to fix your MBPro free of charge. - check this page for details

    (CoastalOR beat me to it!)
     
  5. rshrugged macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2015
    #6
    Good point above by @CoastalOR and @DeltaMac.

    You can still try to reset the SMC --

    https://support.apple.com/en-us/HT201295
     
  6. TomH TX macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2010
    #7
    Had anything else changed or been changed recently? One other option would be that you could try to put it into recovery mode and restore the operating system.
     
  7. Laisha thread starter macrumors member

    Laisha

    #8
    I finally gave up and sent it to Apple, who had me send it in. I just got it back, with a new logic board. It seems to be working well again.

    Thank you.
     

Share This Page