Macbook Pro Late 2007 Maximum RAM

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by Acidlizard, Jul 16, 2012.

  1. Acidlizard macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2012
    #1
    Hello there!
    I have a Macbook Pro (late 2007) with 4gb of 667 DDR2 RAM and I was wondering if it was possible that it could take 6/8gb (a pair of 4gb matched modules or 4 and 2). Has anyone ever tried it? Will it actually take the RAM or will Lion just take 4gbs of the 6 that are provided? Even if it does say that it is only using 4gb of RAM is it still faster? (Mostly I use my Pro for video editing, Photoshop, and Gaming. Any helpful answer provided is welcome!
    Thank you!:D
     
  2. GGJstudios macrumors Westmere

    GGJstudios

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    #2
    They don't make 3GB sticks. You can use 2x4GB (of which it will use 6GB) or you can use 1x2GB and 1x4GB.

    You can find specs on all Apple products, including maximum RAM:
     
  3. jav6454 macrumors P6

    jav6454

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2007
    Location:
    1 Geostationary Tower Plaza
    #3
    There are no 3GB modules. The only thing you can do to try and achieve 6GB is using a 4GB module and 2GB module. However, by doing so, you will loose dual channel capabilities which include an extra speed boost for matched modules.


    Canned responses are the least OP needs right now.
     
  4. GGJstudios macrumors Westmere

    GGJstudios

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    #4
    I answered the OP's question completely. Canned or not, it's the accurate answer, no matter how many times the same question is asked.
     
  5. jav6454 macrumors P6

    jav6454

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2007
    Location:
    1 Geostationary Tower Plaza
    #5
    No... you just gave him a canned response and mended it after I pointed it out. At any point, nothing I'll keep arguing over...
     
  6. GGJstudios macrumors Westmere

    GGJstudios

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    #6
    I didn't even see your post until I was finished with mine.
     

Share This Page