Macbook Pro. Late 2011 vs Upcoming 2012.

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by lewisflude, Feb 13, 2012.

1. lewisflude, Feb 13, 2012
    Last edited: Feb 13, 2012

lewisflude macrumors newbie

Firstly, a bit of background.

I'm a web developer. I write web applications in ruby and python (although I prefer ruby). I also love music. Ableton Live 8 is always by my side on my 2007 Windows 7 PC (the bane of my life). I live by the command line, and although I use OSX every now and again spend most of my time in Linux.

I'm in a situation where an employer wants to pay me £1500 for one months work (2-3 hours a day).

We came to the conclusion, it might be a good idea to get a new laptop to work on considering the machine I'm currently using is falling to bits and has an old dual core processor that takes years to compile even the simplest of source code.

There have been several posts talking about the rumours of a 2012 MacBook Pro redesign. I even posted on reddit about it.

http://www.reddit.com/r/applehelp/comments/pkd9e/is_now_a_bad_time_to_buy_a_macbook_pro/

The bits of advice I was given in that post were pretty polarised.

One group of people told me: "If you can wait, then wait. If you need it now, buy it now." The other group are telling me this is a very bad idea considering the redesign is just around the corner. This strikes me as very sensible advice.

I thought I'd bring the discussion here, because it's a different community and maybe there are some folks here who can help me make my choice.

One thing I was considering was building a desktop PC for £500 and rescuing some old components I have lying around and using this for the next few months until the new models come out.