MacBook Pro problems

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by dragonstryke, Apr 22, 2012.

1. dragonstryke macrumors newbie

Hey guys, I purchased a MBP early 2010 and have recently experienced several problems with it (hardware related). To start, I am not very good with macs or computers in general.

So recently (past 2-3 weeks) the MBP would go into sleep mode by itself and freeze in sleep mode and not turn back on; unless I hold the power button and it fully shuts off. This happens also when it is plugged into the outlet.

I brought it to the apple store and they couldn't find out what the problem is but we also ran into another problem. One of the ram sticks were dead and it has been running on 2gb of ram for who knows how long. The guy at the genius bar things that this might have caused the problem of the laptop freezing in sleep mode.

As of now, my MBP is running with one stick of ram and when I turned it on today it kept making a beeping sound; it eventually turned on and now my question is if that it is more than just a ram issue?

Any help would be greatly appreciated!

On a side note, my warranty has expired in February and I don't have apple care. Is there a way to prove that the ram died before February? or am I out of luck here. I know ram is relatively cheap but if it is more than a ram issue it will suck.

2. yusukeaoki macrumors 68030

yusukeaoki

Beeping is probably RAM failure.
    If the beeping was SOS in morse code (...- - -...) that is logic board problem.

3. iforbes macrumors 6502

I hate to be gullible, but is that true?

4. user418 macrumors 6502a

user418

I'm surprised the Apple tech could not identify the problem and offer a flat fee repair charge. You might try running the AHT to see if any problems are revealed. Also, RAM is dirt cheap now. You can replace your RAM for less than $50 and see if that resolves the issue. I don't know of any way to prove when the RAM went bad.

http://support.apple.com/kb/HT2538?viewlocale=en_US#