MacBook Pro Retina low fps on GTA IV

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by ozbilge10, Mar 12, 2013.

  1. ozbilge10, Mar 12, 2013
    Last edited: Mar 13, 2013

    ozbilge10 macrumors member

    ozbilge10

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2013
    #1
    specs
    2.3GHz quad-core Intel Core i7
    Turbo Boost up to 3.4GHz
    8GB 1600MHz memory
    256GB flash storage1
    Intel HD Graphics 4000
    NVIDIA GeForce GT 650M with 1GB of GDDR5 memory

    https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7BjIQAiaOSg

    I'm not getting fps like on this video. I'm getting 20fps average at high settings, 1680x1050 resolution. I can't understand why. What should i do about it ? I already did smc reset. Battlefield 3 is playable, but it is not. This is my gta iv test video https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=QMjXDztgTTw&feature=youtu.be
    I play it via bootcamp(windows).

    GTA IV 1.0.7
    GeForce driver 314.07
     
  2. StefanYFC macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2012
    Location:
    Toronto, Canada
    #2
    I have the same rMBP and had the exact same issues. It was unplayable.

    It was incredibly choppy immediately.
     
  3. locoboi187 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2012
    #3
    Are you playing the game from OS X or Windows?
     
  4. dastinger macrumors 6502a

    dastinger

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2012
    #4
    Did you reset the SMC only once? Try it more times in a row. To be sure you did it right, try not to have the battery fully charged. The orange light will turn green for a few seconds. Even if it does, do it 3/4 times in a row. Try afterwards.
     
  5. WhiteIphone5 macrumors 65816

    WhiteIphone5

    Joined:
    May 27, 2011
    Location:
    Lima, Peru
    #5
    http://forums.macrumors.com/showthread.php?t=1387536&highlight=gta+iv+retina
     
  6. justperry macrumors 604

    justperry

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2007
    Location:
    In the core of a black hole.
    #6
    This is not recommended by Apple, PRAM reset you can do as many times as you like, not for SMC.
     
  7. xShane macrumors 6502a

    xShane

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2012
    Location:
    United States
    #7
    Are you running on a virtual machine or through Bootcamp?

    Also, your settings might not be the same as in the video.
     
  8. swerve147 macrumors 6502a

    swerve147

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2013
    #8
    Out of curiosity I tested this myself:

    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=fP5n9KYcKBw

    I'm getting similar frame rates as the original video, using the identical settings he is using (although he changes them up a couple of times, I'm mirroring the settings he used at the beginning of the video). I'm using 314.07 drivers, no overclocking. The CPU is also throttled down to max 95% and core parking is disabled.

    The weird thing is that I was getting low to mid 20 fps even after I reset the SMC and rebooted. I actually had to quit the game and relaunch it before the frames stabilized to what you see in the video. It's a little odd.
     
  9. leman macrumors 604

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2008
    #9
    Then maybe Apple could finally get their act together and fix the SMC bug in the first place? I am forced to do the SMC reset at least two times per week.
     
  10. justperry, Mar 13, 2013
    Last edited: Mar 13, 2013

    justperry macrumors 604

    justperry

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2007
    Location:
    In the core of a black hole.
    #10
    Why,which bug?
    No problems here.
     
  11. leman macrumors 604

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2008
    #11
    You must have been sleeping these past few month ;) There is a known issue with the rMBP which causes the SMC controller to misbehave, resulting in reduced severely performance. This can be temporarily fixed with an SMC reset. The issue was introduced by the rMBP firmware update months ago and has not been fixed by Apple yet. Actually, every second post here regarding problems with games or general performance can be pin-pointed down to the SMC bug.
     
  12. justperry macrumors 604

    justperry

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2007
    Location:
    In the core of a black hole.
    #12
    I guess I must have been asleep.:eek:
    Too many F...Ups by Apple last few years, Lion sucked, ML isn't much better, HW problems and so on.
     
  13. dastinger macrumors 6502a

    dastinger

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2012
    #13
    Exactly. I laughed when I read your post because Apple advises you not to do something you must do in order for your MBP to work properly. And, in 6 months (SIX months), no word from Apple regarding this.

    Btw, I'm not doubting what you said but could you point me to where it says that Apple advises you not to reset the SMC too many times? I wrote a long email some days ago regarding this but didn't send it yet. That would be a nice addition to the rant.

    Thank you
     
  14. justperry macrumors 604

    justperry

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2007
    Location:
    In the core of a black hole.
    #14
    It's not exactly what they say (Should not be done too many times) but it's similar:

    Intel-based Macs: Resetting the System Management Controller (SMC)

     
  15. ozbilge10 thread starter macrumors member

    ozbilge10

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2013
  16. Ultra AleM macrumors 6502a

    Ultra AleM

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2012
    Location:
    Italy
  17. swerve147 macrumors 6502a

    swerve147

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2013
    #17
    Some of the things you can do to troubleshoot:

    • SMC reset (make sure you're doing it correctly)
    • Use the latest drivers from Nvidia (latest official are 314.07)
    • Make sure your CPU is not being throttled by heat (monitor temps)

    Regarding temps, beware your CPU being throttled down due to heat, especially with the latest EFI seemingly being over-agressive with this action. The biggest culprit for this (for me at least) was Skyrim. I was micro-stuttering all over the place but once I reduced max processor state my frame rate issues were resolved. I'm guessing the same principle would apply to any other game like GTA. I'm not really sure if this is helping either, but to maximize CPU performance I also disabled core parking. It seems to help.

    All in all these videos aren't really fair because the author doesn't say a thing about what his settings are and what he's done in the background. Furthermore the latest EFI update may have screwed around with things on the Windows side so stock vs. stock if you're patched your frame rates might naturally be worse than the video (that was likely pre-patch).

    There are too many variables to be heavily concerned about something like this but if it really does bother you then maybe you should try tweaking your performance a bit.

    No, a software update won't fix it. It has to be another update to the BIOS/EFI.
     
  18. ozbilge10 thread starter macrumors member

    ozbilge10

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2013
    #19
    I already did smc reset. Please, do not say it again. Should i reinstall game ? or pram reset
     
  19. ozbilge10 thread starter macrumors member

    ozbilge10

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2013
  20. ozbilge10 thread starter macrumors member

    ozbilge10

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2013
    #21
    I did pram and SMC reset, but nothing changed :(
     
  21. StefanYFC macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2012
    Location:
    Toronto, Canada
    #22
    Mine is still performing poorly as well. I just.. kind of deal with the low FPS until I can't stand it anymore. Its like playing in slow motion.
     
  22. ozbilge10 thread starter macrumors member

    ozbilge10

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2013
    #23
    How many fps are you getting ? Mine is still awful:( should I go to genius bar or should I reinstall windows ? I am sure about pc uses gt650m. nvidia driver's version is 314.07(latest)
     
  23. Ultra AleM macrumors 6502a

    Ultra AleM

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2012
    Location:
    Italy
  24. ozbilge10 thread starter macrumors member

    ozbilge10

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2013
    #25
    yes. 1.0.7
     

Share This Page