Macbook pro retina Turbo Boost function working?

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by keviig, Jul 17, 2012.

  1. keviig macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2012
    #1
    I have the base model 2,3 GHz Macbook pro Retina running the GM build of ML. I decided to try and put the CPU at 100% load by using the "yes > /dev/null" (1 for each core) command in Terminal to see if it triggered the Turbo Boost function, which should've brought it up to 3,3 GHz. Thing is, even at 100% load for minutes it would (according to the Ministat widget) not go anywhere above the normal 2.3 GHz. (see the attached screenshot) I wasn't able to trigger the Turbo Boost function by any other means either.

    Is the widget lying to me or is this an actual issue with the Macbook Pro Retina?
     

    Attached Files:

  2. jav6454 macrumors P6

    jav6454

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2007
    Location:
    1 Geostationary Tower Plaza
    #2
    Remember, Turbo Boost only works when the CPU is trying to execute a single threaded action quickly.

    In other words, the other 3 cores of the CPU will "shut off" temporarily in order to boost the single working core to a higher clock rate.

    If you want to see this happening try using a single thread load.
     
  3. keviig thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2012
    #3
    Allright, did not know that. However, i just tried exporting a movie from iMovie, which only uses 1 core, and still no luck.
     
  4. jav6454 macrumors P6

    jav6454

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2007
    Location:
    1 Geostationary Tower Plaza
    #4
    Me think iMovie was updated with Grand Central taken into account which means multi-threaded performance.
     
  5. terraphantm macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2009
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    #5
    I don't think that's true, because Intel has turbo boost frequencies defined for 1,2, 3, and 4 cores. This is the list for desktops:http://www.intel.com/support/processors/corei7/sb/CS-032279.htm?wapkw=core+i7+table

    I cannot find a similar list for notebooks, but I think you can get the information within the OS itself.
     
  6. keviig thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2012
    #6
    You sure? It won't go over 25% load when exporting movies, which would be odd if it was using all the cores.
     
  7. jav6454 macrumors P6

    jav6454

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2007
    Location:
    1 Geostationary Tower Plaza
    #7
    Yes there is turbo boosting for 3, 2 and 1 core. But at 4 cores enabled, it is hard since all power is equally distributed. Remember, Turbo Boost works because with a core shutting down, the power used by that core is redirected to the other cores and hence a speed bump is gained.


    Encoding/Decoding is still a CPU intensive task...
     
  8. charlieroberts macrumors 6502a

    charlieroberts

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2007
    #8
    Im guessing the widget only reads which processor you have on your machine, it doesn't give a real time reading on the frequency.

    I don't think you can get that on a mac. Maybe try windows
     
  9. jav6454 macrumors P6

    jav6454

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2007
    Location:
    1 Geostationary Tower Plaza
    #9
    Exactly, under Windows there is an application called CPU-Z which will read and measure real time CPU information and performance.
     
  10. imladris macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2011
    #10
    You could try Intel's MacCPUID to see which frequency the CPU is running at. In the application there is a "recalculate" button that I guess can be used to check if the frequency has changed (it doesn't do it in real-time). I don't have any frequency stepping on my computer so I can't test it.
     
  11. theSeb macrumors 604

    theSeb

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2010
    Location:
    Poole, England
    #11
    Unfortunately that app does not show the actual frequency. It only shows the base frequency.

    You can check if turbo boost is enabled without installing Windows. Open the Console.app (in utitilies) and then click on All Message. In the search box type in "AppleIntelCPUPowerManagement"

    Look for a line that says:

    11/07/2012 21:50:47.000 kernel: AppleIntelCPUPowerManagement: Turbo Ratios 889A
    (This is from my rMBP)

    Depending on the computer, the ratios will be different. For example my 2011 MBA has 008B

    The way you read this is turbo boost on 4 cores/3 cores/2 cores/1 core

    So on the MBA... the first two zeros make sense, since it only has two cores. The numbers are hex and you times them by 100 MHz. Therefore the MBA has 800 MHz turbo boost enabled on 2 cores and 1100 MHz on one core (B = 11 * 100 = 1100 MHz). Effectively this means that the MBA is running at 2.6 GHz turbo boost on two cores and 2.9 GHz turbo boost on 1 core, which matches Intel's specifications.

    The rMBP 2.6 has 800 MHz on 4 cores, 800 MHz on 3 cores, 900 MHz on 2 cores and 1000 MHz on 1 core.

    So it's 3.4 /3.4/ 3.5/3.6 on 4/3/2/1 core(s) respectively. This again matches Intel's specifications. If I recall correctly, the last time Apple released computers which had CPUs with disabled features was in 2010. I am glad that they've stopped playing these games.
     
  12. Gav2k macrumors G3

    Gav2k

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2009
    #12
    The core temp has to be right too it's a combination of factors.
     
  13. terraphantm macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2009
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    #13
    No, I mean there are different frequencies depending on how many cores are being used. But turbo boost functions even when all 4 cores are in use. Intel's FAQ on it says as much. It is not limited to single threaded applications.

    Anandtech's review has the frequencies listed. I think it's 3.6 GHz with 1 core being used, 3.5 for 2 cores, 3.4 for 3 cores and 4 cores are active. For the 2.6GHz processor that is.

    Intel is calling this "Turbo boost 2.0". Perhaps the original version functioned in the manner you're talking about.
     
  14. jav6454 macrumors P6

    jav6454

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2007
    Location:
    1 Geostationary Tower Plaza
    #14
    Yes, perhaps that is what I am thinking about. When Turbo Boost came out this is how it was explained.

    However, if the block increases of frequencies are like this, then good going. I stand corrected.
     
  15. theSeb macrumors 604

    theSeb

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2010
    Location:
    Poole, England
    #15
    They are - look at my post above.
     
  16. c-bass macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2012
    #16
    how to turbo boost rmbp?

    I'm just wondering how to enable turbo boost for my rmbp?
     
  17. TickleMeElmo macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2012
    #17
    Turbo boost functionality never involved putting the other cores in idle states or power gating them. It has always been the processor boosting frequencies while trying to stay within a specified TDP (in this case 45W)
     
  18. jav6454 macrumors P6

    jav6454

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2007
    Location:
    1 Geostationary Tower Plaza
    #18
    That is essentially what it is in the early days... re-read again please. Why do you think Anandtech did a whole article on clever silicone techniques that could successfully power gate cores when idle and prevent power loss.
     
  19. polygaryd macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2015
    #19
    running el capitan, i have a 3337u processor and my turbo ratios are showing as 0079. That doesnt seem right when the processor should be 1.8ghz normal and turbo up to 2.7ghz or am i not understanding how to figure out the turbo frequencies from the 0079 numbers?
     

Share This Page