Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

TakeManhattan

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Apr 15, 2009
My MBP with 17" glossy screen is about 15 months old.

I had so far been using it with screen brightness level set at 7 bars out of 16.

But, since the past few days, I've noticed that 7 bars is too dark. I have to set the level at 9 or 10 bars to feel comfortable.

Nothing else in the MBP settings or the environment have changed. I don't use any of the auto dimming features.

I'm wondering whether it's the MBP or my eyes that are deteriorating.

Has anyone experienced or heard of gradual dimming of MBP screens over time? Can anyone suggest causes for dimming?
(LED failure?)

BTW, I use isopropyl alcohol to clean the screen. I doubt this could be a cause because I had been doing it for the past 15 months. But a warning: The little black cleaning cloth that comes with the MBP leaks blue-black ink. I never used it.

TakeManhattan

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Apr 15, 2009
did you change your settings at all?
maybe auto lighting, or battery reserve?

Thanks. I should have mentioned the situation is the same whether I run the MBP off battery or the adapter.

Dimming depending on ambient light or power source or before sleeping are all disabled.

puma1552

Suspended
Nov 20, 2008
LEDs in theory aren't supposed to dim over time.

My guess is it's psychological but I guess it's possible for an LED to fail, though I think an LED would just quit altogether if it failed?

TakeManhattan

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Apr 15, 2009
LEDs in theory aren't supposed to dim over time.

My guess is it's psychological but I guess it's possible for an LED to fail, though I think an LED would just quit altogether if it failed?

Is there just one LED for the backlight of the MBP? That'd be one giant LED. The light leaks around the edges of screens of other MBPs I've seen might indicate that there're many LEDs.