Macbook Pro vs. iMac: How great is portability?

Discussion in 'Buying Tips and Advice' started by I'm a Mac, Dec 5, 2007.

1. I'm a Mac macrumors 6502

Right now I have the 24" 2.8 Ghz iMac, that's about to be exchanged/repaired for display issues. However, I was having second thoughts on whether or not to go for a macbook pro instead. I am a high-school student, not in college, so portability isn't super-important, but it would seem nice to be able to move it a little bit/ put it on my bed. Is that really so great once the novelty wears off? I really enjoy the big screen on my iMac, and I don't think I'd ever be able to get a display for a laptop, so how great is the portability/ is there any other pro's and cons people would like to add?

P.S. I do a little hd video editing

2. xUKHCx Administrator emeritus

xUKHCx

I have an iMac and a MB, ever since I got the MB the iMac has hardly been used. The portability is a massive bonus for me as I can use the MB on my bed, in the lounge, in the kitchen, in the library, in lectures, in the park (although a bit too cold at the moment). Before I had the MB I wasn't sure about the whole portability thing but now if i had to buy a new computer I would go for a laptop first no question.

3. I'm a Mac thread starter macrumors 6502

Don't you think the screen is too small?

Remember, I'm not a college student yet, by that time I'll get a laptop. Is talking it around your house as great as it seems?

4. QCassidy352 macrumors G3

QCassidy352

I have a MB and wish I had an imac. The only time I move my laptop is when I have to take it to class (law school). When I'm at home it just sits on my desk hooked up to an external display.

5. je1ani macrumors 6502

get both! :D

To be honest i didn't notice until this post when i'm at home I still spend 50% on the mbp on my bed...

6. xUKHCx Administrator emeritus

xUKHCx

The screen is a little small but i couldn't afford the MBP, and Spaces is a real bonus in that regard.