MacBook Pro with 8GB RAM

Discussion in 'Buying Tips and Advice' started by buywisdom, Sep 11, 2007.

  1. buywisdom macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2005
    #1
  2. synth3tik macrumors 68040

    synth3tik

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2006
    Location:
    Minneapolis, MN
    #2
  3. CanadaRAM macrumors G5

    CanadaRAM

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2004
    Location:
    On the Left Coast - Victoria BC Canada
    #3
    And besides - despite the fact that they illustrate a single module, it is actually a kit of 2 x 2 Gb modules. See the part number CT2KIT...
     
  4. 119576 Guest

    119576

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2007
    #4
    Technical Information

    Memory Size - 4GB
    Memory Technology - DDR2 SDRAM
    Number of Modules - 2 x 2GB
    Memory Speed - 667MHz DDR2-667/PC2-5300
     
  5. koobcamuk macrumors 68040

    koobcamuk

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2006
    #5
    No. Of course not. 4GB is the maximum.
     
  6. Spencer818 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2007
    Location:
    small town, Ontario
    #6
    Actually, if you could find a single 4 gig module, it is possible. Apple only advertises that they can accomodate 4 gigs total but the Santa Rosa platform supports up to 8 gigs of RAM. If you shopped around and found 2 4 gig modules, despite how damn expensive it would be, it would work.
     
  7. Cabbit macrumors 68020

    Cabbit

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2006
    Location:
    Scotland
    #7
    stop spreading fause information guys, the SR platform that the macbook pro uses can support >8GB ram intel just havent certafied it yet because there was none on the market. Check the intel spec sheets.
     
  8. Squonk macrumors 65816

    Squonk

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2005
    #8
    This being the case, then when I buy my new MBP later this year, I'll be sure to go with a 2.2/2.4 to ensure this future expansion capability. Hard to imagine it today, but next year, not so much! :D:cool::eek:
     
  9. maxvamp macrumors 6502a

    maxvamp

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2002
    Location:
    Somewhere out there
    #9
    One related question

    On this note of what the MBP could theoretically support,

    Has anyone tried to take a MacBook above 2 GB? In theory, this platform should be able to take more than 2 GB, unless Apple has capped the EFI code.

    Max.
     
  10. emoore macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2003
    #10
    Yes many people have put in more than 2GB in a Macbook. You can go to 3GB or even 4GB but only 3.3GB will be used.
     
  11. Cabbit macrumors 68020

    Cabbit

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2006
    Location:
    Scotland
    #11
    the 3.3 GB may go higher with leopard and a 64 bit firmware.
     
  12. maxvamp macrumors 6502a

    maxvamp

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2002
    Location:
    Somewhere out there
    #12
    I have a Gen1 (32-bit) MacBook. I will cap at ~3.3 GB the, even with Leopard.

    Max.
     
  13. Cabbit macrumors 68020

    Cabbit

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2006
    Location:
    Scotland
    #13
    dang i forgot apple used the core1duo's well the 64 bit ones sould be fine.
     
  14. CanadaRAM macrumors G5

    CanadaRAM

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2004
    Location:
    On the Left Coast - Victoria BC Canada
    #14
    We've covered this many times -- See the Guide

    The MacBook CoreDuo maxes at 2 Gb
    The MacBook Core2Duo maxes at 3.3 Gb with 2 x 2 Gb SODIMMs installed.

    Those limits will NOT be addressed by Leopard or Firmware, they are inherent in the motherboard's hardware memory controller. (speaking of spreading false information...)
     
  15. Cabbit macrumors 68020

    Cabbit

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2006
    Location:
    Scotland
    #15
    no fause information spead on my behalf, napa on other platforms can sometimes run 4 GB ram just now. and i did not say that it will come i just said it may happen. Unlike whoever said it for sure will not support more ram on the SR as it most certanly dose support more acording to intel 8 or 16 GB is the SR limit but most likely 8 GB.
     
  16. zioxide macrumors 603

    zioxide

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2006
    #16
    Read the specs of the 965 Mobile chipset on intel.com.. 4GB max.

    http://download.intel.com/design/mobile/datashts/31627303.pdf

    see section 1.1.2.

    (napa is the same btw (1.1.2))
     
  17. Cabbit macrumors 68020

    Cabbit

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2006
    Location:
    Scotland
    #17
    this thread was done a few months back with intels document saying SR supports more ram than 4GB. im searching now to get the link to the document before.


    here is the original thread, http://forums.macrumors.com/showthread.php?t=334137
    Santa rosa dose support more than 4GB of ram.

    Quote:
    • Supports 8GB of Memory
    The Mobile Intel® 965 Express Chipset Family supports a main memory
    size up to 8GB.
    SR is the Mobile Intel® 965 Express Chipset for support of 8GB ram. Why would intel make a new chipset that only supports 1 GB extra ram over the previous chipset.

    Quote:
    ・ 36-Bit FSB enables full 4GB memory addressability and capability to scale up to 8GB memory (pending SODIMM module validation)
    Source: All information freely available from the Intel website.
     
  18. soccerdude11 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2007
    #18
    Is it possible to put a second Core2Duo processor into a MBP?
     
  19. CanadaRAM macrumors G5

    CanadaRAM

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2004
    Location:
    On the Left Coast - Victoria BC Canada
    #19
    Umm... no. Where would you put it, for one thing? Unless you were to totally redesign the motherboard and add a second socket...

    Is it possible for Apple to design a future MBP with dual Core2 processors? Unlikely, unless you like a 70 minute battery life and big honkin' fans...

    ^^^
    The 3.3 will never go higher on the non-SR as the motherboard and the memory controller map hardware addresses overtop of the addresses needed for the last 700 Mb or RAM space.
     
  20. vendettabass macrumors 6502a

    vendettabass

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2006
    Location:
    Seoul, South Korea
    #20
    any idea when we'll see 8GB in a MacBook Pro/iMac? I'll be after an iMac with Montevina and wondered how much memory it'd support!
     
  21. CanadaRAM macrumors G5

    CanadaRAM

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2004
    Location:
    On the Left Coast - Victoria BC Canada
    #21
    In the next revision of the core chipset, maybe. But only Apple and Intel know and they aren't telling.

    As far as the current MBP and 4 Gb SODIMMs, so far Apple's developer spec says maximum 16 chips per module and maximum density of 1024 MBits per chip, so with those specs, you'd never get a 4 Gb module - you would need either 32 chips or a 2 Gbit density.
     
  22. maxvamp macrumors 6502a

    maxvamp

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2002
    Location:
    Somewhere out there
    #23
    Curious

    I am an owner of one of the original BlackBooks. I know that this guy was capped to 2 GB of memory.

    I am not as curious as to the current lot of MacBook Pros and if they will take more than 24 GB, but I am curious of the new NVidia based MacBook series ( NVacBook? ) and what they can really take. As a heavy duty Parallels User, I would love to see 6 GB or 8 GB on my notebook. :D

    Max.
     
  23. nslyax macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2002
    Location:
    Holland, MI
    #24
    I just found those 4GB SO-DIMM units today and wrote to Other World Computing, and they gave me the following reply:

     
  24. lars steenhoff macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2006
    #25
    5 Gb Ram Works!

    I just received a 4 gb DDR2 module from G.Skill and this works fine in a :apple: Macbook pro 2.4 Core2 Duo.

    I'm thinking about ordering a second one to make up for 8 in total!


    [​IMG]
     

Share This Page