Macbook Pro's have a wifi switch?

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by Skuman, Mar 8, 2010.

  1. Skuman macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2009
    #1
    I need one, any chance they have them? Thanks.
     
  2. sammich macrumors 601

    sammich

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2006
    Location:
    Sarcasmville.
    #2
    Not a chance. Ruins the whole minimal, clean design.
     
  3. moel macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2007
    #3
    They have like an airport menu in the menubar that, lets you turn the airport off!
     
  4. gr8tfly macrumors 603

    gr8tfly

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2006
    Location:
    ~119W 34N
    #4
    to turn off wifi?

    Click on the WiFi icon in the menu bar, the select "Turn Airport Off". Optionally, go to System Preferences > Network. Click on "Airport" from the left-hand list, then click on "Turn Airport Off".
     
  5. 2contagious macrumors 6502a

    2contagious

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2008
    Location:
    UK
    #5
    What's the point anyway? If you switch Airport off in the menu bar, it doesn't use the wifi card anyway no?
     
  6. gr8tfly macrumors 603

    gr8tfly

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2006
    Location:
    ~119W 34N
    #6
    And thus saves power.

    Also, there are times where the use might want to disconnect from the network, temporally.
     
  7. Skuman thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2009
    #7
    Thanks for the replies. Looks like I won't be buying a Mac:(
     
  8. gr8tfly macrumors 603

    gr8tfly

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2006
    Location:
    ~119W 34N
    #8
    Your OP said you needed to turn off wifi. With that confirmed, you now say you won't need the Mac - with the feature you requested.
    Confused. :confused:
     
  9. 2contagious macrumors 6502a

    2contagious

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2008
    Location:
    UK
    #9
    Because of the lack of a wifi switch? :eek:
     
  10. Chundles macrumors G4

    Chundles

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2005
    #10
    I'm guessing you work at a secure facility? Bugger eh?

    A lot of people at such facilities have all sorts of issues like that - they want the new cool gadgets but they can't take them or use them at work.
     
  11. spinnerlys Guest

    spinnerlys

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2008
    Location:
    forlod bygningen
    #11
    Here is the wifi switch, Apple calls it "Turn AirPort Off/On":
    [​IMG]

    There is no hardware switch like with other Windows and Linux laptops.
     
  12. thecoolone1 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2009
    #12
    boy oh boy, that must be one serious problem. Your going to pass up a beautiful machine over not having the convenience of a on/off switch for your wifi?
     
  13. Chundles macrumors G4

    Chundles

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2005
    #13
    Guys, there's probably a damned good reason. Like I said, his work probably mandates a hardware switch. Just like lots of people can only get basic phones because their work won't allow a camera.
     
  14. spinnerlys Guest

    spinnerlys

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2008
    Location:
    forlod bygningen
    #14
    What do you mean by this?

    Why is a hardware switch so different and a mandated option at some workplaces?
    Easier disabling of Wifi and securing that it stays off? How?
     
  15. thecoolone1 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2009
    #15
    He could always setup a keyboard shortcut to do that. He could even install some 3rd party software at home before he goes to work, so that way when he gets to work then there you go, hit a key and it's off.
     
  16. 2contagious macrumors 6502a

    2contagious

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2008
    Location:
    UK
    #16
    Only workaround then would be taking out the airport card and using either a USB WiFi stick (or a WiFi ExpressCard on the 17") whenever needed.
     
  17. Chundles macrumors G4

    Chundles

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2005
    #17
    What do you mean? I don't know this bloke, I don't work for the fictitious company I made up, I don't make up the rules.

    I am simply saying that his work may mandate a physical hardware switch.

    What an odd question to ask....
     
  18. plasticphyte macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2009
    #18
    Because that is just sometimes how policy, be it purchasing or security or whatever, gets written. It is just how some things roll.

    My best guess is that a hardware switch can turn the wifi card off before the computer has had a chance to boot into the OS environment, therefore minimising the chance of a wifi connection being exploited.
     
  19. Chundles macrumors G4

    Chundles

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2005
    #19
    Quoted For Truth.
     
  20. Skuman thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2009
    #20
    ok, to clear up any confusion, I need a physical switch. Probably should have put that clearer in the original post.
     
  21. spinnerlys Guest

    spinnerlys

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2008
    Location:
    forlod bygningen
    #21
    I'm just unsure what the difference between a hardware and a software switch might be. You answer implied some knowledge on your end, so that's why I asked my odd question. Now it doesn't seem like it, so forget about it.

    It was just my ignorant mind that wanted to obtain some knowledge.


    Why? What is the advantage of a physical switch? Can't it be circumvented anyway?
     
  22. OllyW Moderator

    OllyW

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2005
    Location:
    The Black Country, England
    #22
    If you turn the wi-fi off in OS X it stays off until you turn it back on again. It doesn't turn itself back on again when you re-boot.
     
  23. Skuman thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2009
    #23
    Maybe I should send Steve an email, and see if he's planning for one to be added? :cool:
     
  24. thecoolone1 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2009
    #24
    You can try but Steve is very straight forward in his emails. Don't be surprised if you get an email back saying:

    "No

    Sent from my iPhone"
     
  25. iBlue macrumors Core

    iBlue

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2005
    Location:
    London, England
    #25
    Can you get a Mac Pro without airport (wifi) installed and use an external wifi dongle as the required "physical switch"?
     

Share This Page