MacBook seriously lagging! Why?

Discussion in 'MacBook' started by PowerFullMac, Aug 7, 2008.

  1. PowerFullMac macrumors 601

    PowerFullMac

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2006
    #1
    I have a few month old Penryn MacBook with 2.1GHz CPU and 1GB RAM, and its getting slow after being on for a few hours.

    On my old iBook I used to keep it on (and just put it to sleep when I wasent using it) for weeks at a time with hardly any effect, but recently when I do that on my MacBook it goes slower than a 500MHz G3 by the end of the second day, and I wonna know, after paying £700 for a new computer, why the hell its doing that!

    Also, it seems random stuff just randomly crashes, like the Dashboard, the Dock, iPhoto, iTunes wont connect to my iPod touch properly half the time anymore, and when it does its very slow... Come on Apple!!!!!

    Thanks in advance for any help!
     
  2. FuuFuu macrumors regular

    FuuFuu

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2008
    Location:
    Roselle
    #2
    i'm guessing your ibook didn't have leopard on it. its most likely your ram, 1gb is too small for an awesome OS X like leopard. i suggest you get a 2gb at least.
     
  3. fstfrwrd macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2008
    Location:
    Belgium
    #3
    so it's a bad thing to leave your computer on day and night?
     
  4. iShater macrumors 604

    iShater

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2002
    Location:
    Chicagoland
    #4
    Even with 1 GB, you should not be seeing such a performance degradation.

    What does Activity Monitor show? are you close enough to an Apple Store where you can put the MB to sleep and take it there to show them the issues?
     
  5. PowerFullMac thread starter macrumors 601

    PowerFullMac

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2006
    #5
    Here are some screenshots from Activity Monitor...

    I am aware I dont have much RAM but I still dont except stuff like this! :eek:

    I think it may be a software problem as I never noticed this issue before I upgraded to 10.5.4, is anyone else experiencing anything like this?

    I dont think the issue is with putting it to sleep anyway, coz I turned my MacBook on this morning and even now later in the day its starting to get a big laggy, I think it may be the RAM getting to much put onto it as the computer is running... And Activity Monitor says 900MB IS BEING USED! :eek: So that is probably it!!!
     

    Attached Files:

  6. liketom macrumors 601

    liketom

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2004
    Location:
    Lincoln,UK
    #6
    on my MBP Mail hogs resources and makes my fans spin like crazy

    not running Mail are you ?
     
  7. HiFiGuy528 macrumors 68000

    HiFiGuy528

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2008
    #7
    1GB of RAM is not enough for everything. You system show it has used 900.16MB. I have 4GB on mine. I average about a little under 2GB used.

    How do you post a screen shot?
     
  8. PowerFullMac thread starter macrumors 601

    PowerFullMac

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2006
    #8
    All I am running is Safari, look! I was running iMovie before, though... Shouldnt be a problem now, right?

    I do have quite a few tabs open, though!

    DjAmTraX, command+shift+3
     

    Attached Files:

  9. priller macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2007
    #9
    Mine is using more ram & swap but isn't lagging.

    Code:
    gamma:tmp priller$ uptime
    16:25  up 13 days,  7:19, 6 users, load averages: 0.43 0.57 0.56
     
  10. sn00pie macrumors 6502a

    sn00pie

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2008
    Location:
    United States
    #10
    Just end a bunch of random processes and see if it helps. :p
     
  11. ajohnson253 macrumors 68000

    ajohnson253

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2008
  12. alphaod macrumors Core

    alphaod

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2008
    Location:
    NYC
    #12
    The more RAM you have, the more RAM programs will take up (even if they don't need it)

    But nonetheless, get about 2GB of RAM or whatever the max is.
     
  13. PowerFullMac thread starter macrumors 601

    PowerFullMac

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2006
    #13
    priller, what version of Mac OS X do you have?
     
  14. Pixellated macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2008
    #15
    Max the ram/Downgrade to Tiger (Something I do not condone BTW)
     
  15. xUKHCx Administrator emeritus

    xUKHCx

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2006
    Location:
    The Kop
    #16
    used does not me in use

    Sort by RAM usage to see what applications are taking up your RAM and if they are not needed then don't run them. 1GB of RAM is OK with Leopard but your page outs/page ins ratio suggests that you are often running out of RAM so either close programs that you don't need but often leave open or look into getting some more RAM.
     
  16. PowerFullMac thread starter macrumors 601

    PowerFullMac

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2006
    #17
    OK, its only lagging a tiny bit now even though I only have 30MB of RAM free!

    OK, Leopard is very resource-sucking! (Not as much as Vista BASIC! Which takes over half my RAM by just sitting there, but still)

    I'll just buy some RAM then, whats the cheapest non-scam, actually working and reliable RAM you can get in the UK?

    EDIT: Screenshot attached.
     

    Attached Files:

  17. ajohnson253 macrumors 68000

    ajohnson253

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2008
    #18
    using the mac to its fullest potentional there we goooo lol
     
  18. misterredman macrumors 6502a

    misterredman

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2007
    #19
    It may be that more RAM can speed up you mac but the fact that those app crash doesn't seems to be realted to that in my opinion. I would first do a complete hardware test.
     
  19. PowerFullMac thread starter macrumors 601

    PowerFullMac

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2006
    #20
    I think the reason for the crashes is there is not enough RAM to not run properly, coz stuff always crashes while its lagging.
     
  20. priller macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2007
    #21
    I don't think them ram is causing crashes either, since mine is using more and doesn't keep crashing.
     
  21. PowerFullMac thread starter macrumors 601

    PowerFullMac

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2006
    #22
    OK, I will do a hardware test later.

    Hope there is nothing wrong with it... :(
     
  22. elvtnedge macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2007
    #23
    just wondering... how do you do a hardware test?
     
  23. SnowLeopard2008 macrumors 604

    SnowLeopard2008

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2008
    Location:
    Silicon Valley
    #24
    lol, remember what Scott Forstall said at WWDC08? "You go to manually kill it, but don't kill the wrong or else you're in trouble". But seriously, to the OP, don't do that. Just upgrade the ram to say, 2GB. Try macsales.com they have factory original ram, which is what Apple uses in the assembly line, and its around $60 (USD) for 2 X 1GB ram sticks. So I esitmate 15-20 euro? Iono, I live in the states...
     
  24. HiFiGuy528 macrumors 68000

    HiFiGuy528

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2008
    #25
    I thought Samsung and a few others were OEM. I don't recall OWC being one of them. Who makes OWC?

    Anyone tried the Rember test? I did and I don't think it worked because it took over 9 hours to run and it never finished so I stopped it thniking it was stuck. Your thoughts?
     

Share This Page