Macbook--To Wait Or Not To Wait

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by Thrawn, Dec 15, 2007.

1. Thrawn macrumors member

Hey everyone,

I'm a freshman in high school and I had a question. My dad just told me that he would give me $400 (1300 in total) to help me buy a macbook as a Christmas present. I'm very eager to buy a macbook, but I heard about the rumor floating around of aluminum macbooks. I would definitely prefer aluminum casing, considering I dislike the white plastic a lot (!), but if this rumor turns out to be untrue, I (1.) won't have the macbook for my week-long family reunion, that I would like a laptop for, and (2.) I will have wasted a month without the laptop I've been saving up for. What should I do, wait or buy now?

-Thrawn

2. caj macrumors member

caj

waaaaaaaaaiiiitt duuuude! i'm a sophomore in high school and I am waiting. it's gonna be awesome!

gunmetal!!:cool:

3. heatmiser macrumors 68020

Keep waiting. Apple is sure to update the Macbook with Macbook Pro technology and offer it at baseline Macbook prices. You've just got to keep waiting. They're going to invert their entire business model and fulfill the fantasies of every person who's chosen to ignore the buyer's guide on Macforums if you Just Keep Waiting. We're almost there. Just a few more months before that super Macbook!

4. jeff3221 macrumors regular

I got mine a week ago and I have never turned back. The macbooks were just updated, and it is unlikely that another one will come out soon. If there is a new thin macbook, it will probably be a pro because apple can get away with making more money. Rumors have also shone that it won't have an optical drive or a hard drive. How practical is that? I say go for it.

5. Thrawn thread starter macrumors member

I'm guessing that was a sarcastic comment(?). Anyways, thanks everyone for the opinions, but keep posting them because I'm still not quite sure. And, yes, gun-metal would be freakin' awesome!

6. jeff3221 macrumors regular