MacPro 1,1 with HD 6950 bootcamp

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by gendolfender, Apr 22, 2017.

Tags:
  1. gendolfender macrumors newbie

    gendolfender

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2017
    Location:
    Beeston, England
    #1
    Soooo i got a macpro 2,1 on ebay for 90 pretty cheap i must say but it has that ****** Nvidia GT 7300 however it was upgraded to 2 quad xeons anyhow i want to only use it in bootcamp mode
    question is will HD 6950 work in it or will i have to buy something else as i have 6950 lying around
    DO NOT FORGET im only using macpro in bootcamp mode not using mac os on it
     
  2. hwojtek macrumors 65816

    hwojtek

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2008
    Location:
    Poznan, Poland
    #2
    If you run vanilla Windows, it's not bootcamp (unless there is some OS X installation left).
    You can use it just like you used a regular PC. 6950 will work, provided you installed the drivers from AMD website.
     
  3. AidenShaw macrumors P6

    AidenShaw

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2003
    Location:
    The Peninsula
    #3
    Windows will most likely have Radeon drivers included - but you still want the latest from ATI or Nvidia. Even the accelerated drivers from Windows update are usually a release or two older than the one on the vendor's site.
     
  4. flyinmac macrumors 68040

    flyinmac

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2006
    Location:
    United States
    #4
    The 7300 GT that it came with will also work just fine in Windows 10. That's what I used for a while on my system before I upgraded it a little bit.
     
  5. gendolfender thread starter macrumors newbie

    gendolfender

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2017
    Location:
    Beeston, England
    #5
    So in a nutshell if im using Windows only be it xp vista 7 8 10 etc it will works just fine only thing i will loose is mac bootscreen (white screen with apple logo)
     
  6. hwojtek macrumors 65816

    hwojtek

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2008
    Location:
    Poznan, Poland

Share This Page