Macpro (R)evolution!

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by thunderfunny, Apr 12, 2012.

  1. thunderfunny macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2012
    #1
    Well Well Well I have been saving money to buy a macpro for sometime now and was thinking of some alternatives if apple does not meet my needs in upcoming upgrades. I sound spoiled but I'm not, just need a good investment on a "POWERFUL" computer that runs Mac OS X, that is upgradable,and has thunderbolt integration. So I want to share some alternatives I found. And if you would like to share some,you are more than welcome.

    My alternatives:cool:
    1. http://tinyurl.com/6pdv7nh
    2. http://tinyurl.com/7nfvyxd (but wait till they put thunderbolt on them)
    3. http://tinyurl.com/7z3r95l (Not that powerful but gives an idea)

    My needs:eek:

    1.2tb or 3tb ssd http://tinyurl.com/5w3rhbl
    2. thunderbolt!
    3. 16core or 24core,Faster! Faster! Faster!
    4.RAM lots and lots
    5. XEON the fastest

    Money I have saved for a powerful machine? $10,000:D
    Don't ask why I saved that much. If you are a pro you know what you need.

    What are your alternatives and needs?And money saved?
    :apple: "Viva la revolution":apple:
     
  2. r00tb33r macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2012
    #2
    Not sure where to begin the discussion of all the things that are wrong with this post...
     
  3. JesterJJZ macrumors 68020

    JesterJJZ

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2004
    #3
    Man how I wish the next MacPro was just like the ProMaxOne.
     
  4. RoelJuun macrumors 6502

    RoelJuun

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010
    Location:
    Netherlands
    #4
    Was just thinking the same thing as r00tb33r. Is this some 8-year old child? If he is, he's definitely thunder funny…
     
  5. Draeconis macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    May 6, 2008
    #5
    Err, if you're a 'Pro', I don't think any of those are suitable options.

    If you have $10k, you can get a decent Mac Pro for that.

    According to the site, you can get a dual 2.93Ghz hex, with 64Gb RAM and leave everything else as stock for $9,749.
     
  6. chrono1081 macrumors 604

    chrono1081

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2008
    Location:
    Isla Nublar
    #6
    I'm pretty sure this thread is not even real...but if it is you never even mentioned the kind of workflow you have.

    For example, I make games as a hobby so part of my workflow is 3D modeling. I need a computer that handles Maya, ZBrush, Photoshop, Marmoset, Houdini, Mudbox, and Unity 3D because I use all of those programs for different purposes. I picked the machine in my sig because it fits the bill wonderfully.

    We can't recommend anything without knowing your needs.

    Also, to answer your question about alternatives, there really is no alternatives for me. I need a machine that runs Mac, Linux and Windows and my tower fits the bill perfectly.
     
  7. r00tb33r macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2012
  8. itsamacthing macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2011
    Location:
    Bangkok
    #8
    rofl
     
  9. rdowns macrumors Penryn

    rdowns

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2003
    #9
    When did Mac Pro people get worse than iPhone people?
     
  10. thunderfunny thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2012
    #10
    Thats awsome I love maya. As for the software i use? Lets just say it's 1.5tb of music software and it will get larger in time. The problem is that i multitask a lot and have many many many plugins and daws that are open to get the right sound that i need. I use different daws because the music industry does not only use protools.And thunderbolt is a must because of external virtual machines on the go and future midi controllers.Cheers. But what tower do you have and specs?

    ----------

    Lol you are probably on to something:)

    ----------

    I agree,if only it had thunderbolt i would of bought it already.

    ----------

    "He's definitely thunder funny..." lol clever

    ----------

    I see your point of view. Thanks.

    ----------

    Hahahahahahaha. Exactly moar! moar!

    ----------

    Yeah thats how i feel about speed! Lol

    ----------

    Worse than iphone? I don't think that is possible. But i still see why you would say that.:)
     
  11. goMac macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2004
    #11
    The motherboard you link to can't even do more than 6 cores...
     
  12. thunderfunny thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2012
    #12
    I was hooked on the thunderbolt motherboard.
     
  13. wallysb01 macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2011
    #13
    But.. you still can't have 16 cores on it. And if you buy an LGA 2011 board, you can put 6 PCI cards in there. How much more do you really need, especially at TB speeds?

    What you're saying you need and what you want to buy are just in complete conflict or down right absurd. I mean, a 2 or 3TB SSD? If you need that much storage at high speed, just use a 3 HDD RAID0. I can't even find a 2 TB SSD. To my knowledge they don't exist for consumers to buy them. Are you talking about RAID0-ing 3x1TB SSDs? Are you just trying to be silly?
     
  14. ScottishCaptain macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2008
    #14
    LOL.

    Nice troll bro.

    If you knew anything about MIDI, you'd understand just how absurd your statement is. But given that you said it, either you're trolling or you've never touched MIDI in your life. Or maybe you have, and you're just a rich brat with a scattershot of random equipment- all of which you never use, but love to show to your friends.

    This thread should be sent to the wasteland. Nobody replies to posts like this guy does unless they're trollin'.

    -SC
     
  15. thunderfunny, Apr 12, 2012
    Last edited: Apr 12, 2012

    thunderfunny thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2012
    #15
    ssd

    [/COLOR]
    Hdd are not reliable when running a lot of software and audio at the same time,it makes the hdd raid 0 go crazy and might even crash all the drives together. Around 4X480gb owc 6g Ssd raid 0 is my goal,internally and via thunderbolt external. But i don't know if it loses speed with the icydock adapters for ssds. You can find 3tb Ssd,they are around 6grand. But you need to call the company that makes them and request them. If you are interested in them ill try to look up the bookmark link i saved a while back.
     
  16. thunderfunny thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2012
    #16
    I admire your concern. Go to djtechtools.com and type in the blog search bar thunderbolt, you might find it useful. I see you are not aware of the midi controllers coming out but
    I understand your passion.
     
  17. goMac macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2004
    #17
    What's an external virtual machine?

    Moreover, if you have 16 cores, why do you need an external virtual machine?
     
  18. thunderfunny thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2012
    #18
    virtual machine

    :D http://tinyurl.com/6m3chxu :D :)Skip to 2:40min.
     
  19. ScottishCaptain macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2008
    #19
    o_O

    Very well. I did as you said, and none of the information on that website is even remotely interesting or useful. In fact, the entire thing reads like a SEO website designed to generate ad revenue.

    But whatever. I typed in "thunderbolt", and I got a whopping three articles back.

    None of them mention MIDI and Thunderbolt in the same sentence.

    If you think that they do, then either you don't understand the terminology behind what you're reading well enough or you yourself haven't even read the material you are referencing.

    So you need 16 cores and Thunderbolt for solitaire and freecell?

    Troll harder, ur doin it wrong.

    -SC
     
  20. goMac macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2004
    #20
    Yeah, you haven't clarified the external part. All those virtual machines are running on the local machine.
     
  21. thunderfunny thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2012
    #21
    The seo is applicable,they got big and started advertising a lot,but still a great site.I would give it a second look if I were you. Midi controllers cannot be used through thunderbolt technology?Interface?:eek: note:2010http://tinyurl.com/8xsp97d
    note:released:2011 http://tinyurl.com/6v8ljx5
    note:early2012http://tinyurl.com/78sv4sg
    Don't under estimate the power of upcoming technology. :D

    Troll harder.:eek: Doing what wrong?:p Did you read how much software I got?:eek:

    Now I admire your passion.:D
     
  22. ixodes macrumors 601

    ixodes

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2012
    Location:
    Pacific Coast, USA
    #22
    This idiotic image speaks volumes about some members demographics...
     
  23. WRP macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2011
    Location:
    Boston
    #23
    Why do you people even entertain arguing with these kinds of posts?
     
  24. thunderfunny thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2012
    #24

    promise pegasus+ http://tinyurl.com/cg33cvd =Its alive! iittsss aliiiiiive!:D

    Going through the airport with a macpro is kind of a hassle dont you agree?
     
  25. TheDoc macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2008
    #25
    Each time this thread gets updated with a new post it just gets better.

    @ScottishCaptain - you're bringing too much logic to a fight that is based on none.
     

Share This Page