MacRumors.com is showing me old news

Discussion in 'Site and Forum Feedback' started by intelliot, Oct 17, 2010.

  1. intelliot macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2006
    #1
    The latest post on MacRumors.com is "Game Center Games Starting to Appear in App Store", dated "Wednesday September 08, 2010 08:47 PM EST". How do I get this to update?

    I've tried refreshing and using different browsers (Chrome, Safari, Firefox).
     
  2. arn macrumors god

    arn

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2001
    #2
    is this still happening?

    I don't see it on my end.

    arn
     
  3. celticpride678

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2009
    Location:
    Boston, MA
    #3
    Not happening on my end either.
     
  4. Firestar macrumors 68020

    Firestar

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2010
    Location:
    221B Baker Street.
  5. LouieSamman macrumors 6502a

    LouieSamman

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2008
    Location:
    Orlando, Florida
    #5
    Thats completely weird. Try resetting Safari.

    But you tried it on different browsers and yet it's still the same for you so IDK if resetting Safari would work but go ahead and try.

    Let us know if you did this.
     
  6. intelliot thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2006
    #6
    I did it, but it didn't help: I'm still seeing the same old news.

    Yes, it is still happening.

    Yes, it is on the front page.


    Here, I took a screenshot and uploaded it to ImageShack.

    [​IMG]

    Uploaded with ImageShack.us


    :(
     
  7. Peace macrumors Core

    Peace

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2005
    Location:
    Space--The ONLY Frontier
    #7
    Thats an old version of Safari.

    Have you looked at other websites ? Are they outdated ?

    Also are you going through a corporate firewall ? Perhaps the ISP hasn't refreshed it's cache server in a long time. Also check your proxy settings.
    :confused:
     
  8. spinnerlys Guest

    spinnerlys

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2008
    Location:
    forlod bygningen
    #8
    How do you come to this conclusion? It looks like Safari 5 (reload button inside the address bar).
     
  9. Peace macrumors Core

    Peace

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2005
    Location:
    Space--The ONLY Frontier
    #9
    The web clip icon isn't in the newer version of Safari.

    Then again I am running beta stuff so.

    [edit] DO'H early morning isn't my best time. the web clip is in the new version you just have to enable it. [/edit]

    I'd still check proxy settings though.
     
  10. Hellhammer Moderator

    Hellhammer

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2008
    Location:
    Finland
    #10
    I'm running Safari 5.0.2 and I have that web clip icon there. Maybe you have removed yours (cmd + drag it)
     
  11. BertyBoy macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2009
    #11
    May be related,

    but since yesterday (from the OP in this thread, MacRomors front page has been hanging Firefox 2.0.0.20 on Mac OSX 10.3.9.
     
  12. arn macrumors god

    arn

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2001
    #12
  13. intelliot thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2006
    #13
    I think you're right that geography is a contributing factor. I'm in Ho Chi Minh City (Saigon), Vietnam.

    I'm not aware of any local caching. I haven't seen this kind of issue with any other websites. I think it might have to do with a combination of the server configuration and my location.

    This is the latest version of Safari (5.0.2). MacRumors does not hang any of my browsers. This same problem also occurs on every other device in the vicinity (other MacBooks and iOS devices), so it is not a device, browser, or user issue.

    BTW, my IP address is 116.110.228.214 -- might help with the investigation. My connection is DSL.

    Here's a strange thing: on my iPhone, if I access MacRumors via my 3G connection, I get an iPhone-optimized version of the site (with a mobile Google Ad at the top). If I turn on WiFi (to use my apt's DSL connection) and then refresh the exact same page (macrumors.com), I get the desktop version of the site, and it shows the same outdated news I've been seeing for over a month.

    Maybe the DSL provider is providing the MacRumors server with a false user-agent and current-date header? I don't even know if that's possible. Does the MacRumors server adjust the news shown based on the viewer's timezone?
     
  14. arn macrumors god

    arn

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2001
    #14
    No, that makes sense. It seems your ISP provider is somehow caching the results somewhere along the way. I've heard this happening for some ISP's but not usually for so long.

    Does your ISP have good customer service? Can you email or call them?

    arn
     
  15. intelliot thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2006
    #15

Share This Page