MacRumors.com Server Move

Discussion in 'Site and Forum Feedback' started by arn, Oct 31, 2007.

  1. arn macrumors god

    arn

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2001
    #1
    Hi all,

    www.macrumors.com has changed servers. There may be some odd errors or other issues with the transition. Please let us know if you notice anything. We had some issues with page2 and iphone pages not being properly generated, but they are working now. DNS changes may take some time, so if you care, you are on the new server if the word "xeeno" appear at the very bottom of macrumors.com. "web1" appears on the old server.

    This is only about pages hosted under "www.macrumors.com" url. Not the forums, guides, or spy etc...

    the other areas of macrumors will be transitioning over the next few days, and we'll post when it happens.

    arn
     
  2. Eidorian macrumors Penryn

    Eidorian

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Location:
    Indianapolis
  3. psychofreak Retired

    psychofreak

    Joined:
    May 16, 2006
    Location:
    London
  4. Eidorian macrumors Penryn

    Eidorian

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Location:
    Indianapolis
    #4
    And I get railed for aluminium. :(
     
  5. arn thread starter macrumors god

    arn

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2001
    #5
    we've never owned the british spelling. it's historically gone to an parked ad page.

    arn
     
  6. twoodcc macrumors P6

    twoodcc

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2005
    Location:
    Right side of wrong
    #6
    so we're moving to new and improved servers? great :)
     
  7. orijinal macrumors 6502

    orijinal

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2005
    #7
    i keep seeing these connections in my netstat after i've visited macrumors, regardless if safari is closed or not. what gives?

    tcp4 0 0 192.168.2.xx:xxxxxx xeeno.com.http LAST_ACK
    tcp4 0 1041 192.168.2.xx:xxxxx xeeno.com.http LAST_ACK

    before they were "last_ack," they were "closed_wait"
     
  8. arn thread starter macrumors god

    arn

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2001
    #8
    no idea. happen with other sites?

    arn
     
  9. psychofreak Retired

    psychofreak

    Joined:
    May 16, 2006
    Location:
    London
    #9
    Sorry, I was certain it redirected to the main page...oh well, I never really check there as I have Forum Spy and RSS to keep me going...

    On that note, a full-story RSS feed would be nice, even if it had ads...and it would suit iPhone/iPod touch users well...
     
  10. iDAG macrumors 65816

    iDAG

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2007
    Location:
    Athens, Ohio
  11. arn thread starter macrumors god

    arn

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2001
    #11
    thanks. fixed.

    arn
     
  12. Grimace macrumors 68040

    Grimace

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2003
    Location:
    with Hamburglar.
  13. Grimace macrumors 68040

    Grimace

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2003
    Location:
    with Hamburglar.
    #14
    It works for me on Firefox and Opera so I'll assume my Safari cache is jacked.

    This is the message that I was getting:

    Warning: main(buyerinclude.php) [function.main]: failed to open stream: No such file or directory in /home/macrumor/public_html/pvt/noadsbuyers.php on line 106

    Warning: main() [function.include]: Failed opening 'buyerinclude.php' for inclusion (include_path='.:/usr/lib/php:/usr/local/lib/php') in /home/macrumor/public_html/pvt/noadsbuyers.php on line 106
     
  14. devilot Moderator emeritus

    devilot

    Joined:
    May 1, 2005
    #15
    Similarly, on 10.4.10, Camino 1.5.3:

    Warning: main(buyerinclude.php) [function.main]: failed to open stream: No such file or directory in /home/macrumor/public_html/pvt/noadsbuyers.php on line 106

    Warning: main() [function.include]: Failed opening 'buyerinclude.php' for inclusion (include_path='.:/usr/lib/php:/usr/local/lib/php') in /home/macrumor/public_html/pvt/noadsbuyers.php on line 106​
     
  15. arn thread starter macrumors god

    arn

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2001
    #16
    I always forget to test the members area.

    buyersguide/members fixed.

    arn
     
  16. mpw Guest

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2004
    #17
    Does anybody else get this message? I get it when clicking a link to a thread, but refreshing always takes me straight there and I've no problem elsewhere like user control etc.

    Is it a MR thing or my T'Book playing up??
     

    Attached Files:

  17. arn thread starter macrumors god

    arn

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2001
    #18

    This is a long term issue that is unrelated to the server move. I've never figured out why it happens or how to fix it.

    arn
     
  18. xUKHCx Administrator emeritus

    xUKHCx

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2006
    Location:
    The Kop
    #19
    Oh I was just going to post the exact same thing. I didn't get this before the move and now it happens maybe 1 in 100 (seems to occur in batches).

    Ironically enough it just happened when I pressed "Submit Reply" to post this message.

    Edit: but the original post made it through, sorry for the duplicate i'm sure there are enough mods around this thread to remove it but will report it anyway. Ok maybe 1 in 10 at bad times.
     
  19. Eidorian macrumors Penryn

    Eidorian

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Location:
    Indianapolis
    #20
    Sometimes the posts still go through though.

    *shrug*
     
  20. arn thread starter macrumors god

    arn

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2001
    #21
    Here's a particularly scathing comment on it:
    http://trac.edgewall.org/ticket/1469

    Report it to Apple I guess is the only option.

    From 2003 @ MacNN
    Apple Discussions from Oct 28, 2007
    webkit bug report from Aug 2007

    This claims it has to do with a poorly formatted gzip header. Pages on MacRumors are gziped. But I'm using the standard Apache2 Deflate, which is different from before, which may explain why things are a little different than before.

    arn
     
  21. WildCowboy Administrator/Editor

    WildCowboy

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2005
    #22
    Yeah, I'm getting the "bad server response" error messages about 5% of the time this evening using Safari 3.0.3 on Tiger. Have seen it in the past here, but not in a very long while.
     
  22. arn thread starter macrumors god

    arn

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2001
    #23
    Anyone with 3.0.4 Safari Leopard getting them?

    arn
     
  23. xUKHCx Administrator emeritus

    xUKHCx

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2006
    Location:
    The Kop
    #24
    I'm on 3.0.4 and am getting them, see post above.
     
  24. arn thread starter macrumors god

    arn

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2001
    #25
    somehow I doubt this is the case, but can someone who is having the problem try this, taken from the apple discussion thread above

     

Share This Page