Magic Mouse or Magic Trackpad?

Discussion in 'Mac Accessories' started by Casey01, Mar 8, 2011.

1. Casey01 macrumors member

So I'm trying to decide whether or not I should get the Magic Mouse or Magic Trackpad. Even though my MBP already has a trackpad, it's an older style one. I'm a amateur graphic designer and video editor.

The magic mouse would solve the problem I have using the trackpad in photoshop. But the multi-touch magic trackpad would has an abundant amount of nifty features. What do you guys think?
    I'm personally leaning towards the magic mouse but I'd like to get more input on it.

2. MacDawg macrumors P6

MacDawg

I have both
    I use both

If I could only have one, it would be the Magic Mouse

But I do like the option of having both side by side
    Both are better at some things than the other

But as I said, if I could only have one, it would be the Magic Mouse

3. teleromeo macrumors 65816

teleromeo

I never used one but I don't think a trackpad is any good to do some decent photoshop. Get a magic mouse or consider a pen tablet.

4. 184550 Guest

I'd play with the MM in store somewhere before buying one.

I got one with my iMac purchase back in June 2010 and I found the MM had a very low profile that was just too hard to get use to/ use comfortably. I ended up selling it on Craigslist.

5. Hydramus macrumors member

I also have both, and I actually prefer the magic trackpad. There's just something about the size and space to perform gestures, whereas the magic mouse can be a bit finicky.

But as you mentioned, the magic mouse would be better for Photoshop so that's probably the better option of the two for you. I actually use a Wacom tablet for that type of work so I can get away with using the trackpad.

6. rgarjr macrumors 603

rgarjr

Get the MM first and then get the MTP later. Both are pretty sick devices that are a lot of fun to use.

7. DeeEss macrumors 6502a