MAJOR PwnageTool problem - URGENT!

Discussion in 'Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks' started by stormypenguin, Nov 16, 2009.

  1. stormypenguin macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2008
    #1
    Alright so I had purchased an unlocked and jailbroken iPhone 3G, inserted my tmobile SIM card, everything was fine, it synced my old iphone data over, no problem.

    Today, while trying to sync my phone to itunes, it gave me an error message about an unrecognized SIM card, so a few minutes ago I ran PwnageTool and used my old iphone info after PwnageTool finished. Now I have no service, no WIFI, can't place calls etc. I really need my phone for work in the morning, is there anyone that can help?

    Thank you..
     
  2. jav6454 macrumors P6

    jav6454

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2007
    Location:
    1 Geostationary Tower Plaza
    #2
    I don't exactly get what you did. Can you please rephrase in steps?
     
  3. iPhone-power macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2009
    #3
    Pwnage Tool only jailbreaks the phone. If you want to use T-mobile, you need to unlock the phone to do so.

    Sounds like you need to fire up Google and do some reading.

    I suggest you check iClarified for a tutorial for the 3G for your OS (Mac or PC) for whatever firmware you put on your phone.
     
  4. stormypenguin thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2008
    #4
    I used iClairifed. Followed the instructions step by step. I have done this before, so I don't really understand what went wrong.

    Thanks..
     
  5. jav6454 macrumors P6

    jav6454

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2007
    Location:
    1 Geostationary Tower Plaza
    #5
    This doesn't help. Tell me what you actually did, and what you were doing when the phone problems started.
     
  6. jmann macrumors 604

    jmann

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2007
    Location:
    bump on a log in a hole in the bottom of the sea
    #6
    What you need to do, is restore the phone to 3.1.2 in iTunes and run blackra1n/blacksn0w. Or you need to put the phone into DFU mode (inst in my sig) and then make a custom IPSW with pwnage tool, and make sure that after the restore you set it up as a new phone, DON'T restore from a backup. Then make sure 3G is turned off, and install ultrasn0w and your phone should work fine again. You have those choices.

    pwnage tool guide
    blackra1n/blacksn0w guide
     
  7. stormypenguin thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2008
    #7
    Sorry.

    Alllright - I bought the 3G, it was already unlocked and jailbroken, using BlackRa1n I believe, but I'm not sure. My SIM was fine until today, I could make calls, it functioned as expected.

    I connected the thing to my computer to install a new ringtone, and I got an error message, something along the lines of " your SIM card is not recognized" or what have you. I figured I could just run PwnageTool, as this is what I had done with my iPhone 2G whenever I had a problem or needed to update the software. SO - I used the 3G tutorial on iClairified to Jailbreak the phone, I figured it would unlock it as well, but apparently it doesn't. It did with my 2G.

    I'm not sure of what steps to take next, as I've only ever used PwnageTool.

    Thank you..
     
  8. jmann macrumors 604

    jmann

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2007
    Location:
    bump on a log in a hole in the bottom of the sea
    #8
    Unplug it from iTunes. Take out your sim card. Go into cydia and search for "ultrasn0w", download and install it. Reboot phone and go into settings and turn off 3G. Then insert your sim card.

    (OPTIONAL)

    Go here and download then install the post paid t-zones IPCC through iTunes and that will enable your picture messaging.
     
  9. stormypenguin thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2008
    #9
    I don't have WIFI appearing on the phone... how can I use Cydia?
     
  10. jmann macrumors 604

    jmann

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2007
    Location:
    bump on a log in a hole in the bottom of the sea
    #10
    Well if wifi isn't working, I would restore and try again, or make sure that WIFI is turned on. :p
     
  11. stormypenguin thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2008
    #11
    WIFI is on, I'm usng my laptop right now.

    So, do the entire PwnageTool application again, from start to finish?

    I appreciate the help
     
  12. jav6454 macrumors P6

    jav6454

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2007
    Location:
    1 Geostationary Tower Plaza
    #12
    Re create a new .ipsw, be sure that when iTunes asks to restore from a back-up you set up as new phone! otherwise settings that made previous conflicts will carry over making your life miserable again.
     
  13. labman macrumors 604

    labman

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2009
    Location:
    Mich near Detroit
    #13
    I would start by restoring firmware

    restore phone as new then I would check to see if Wifi is been restored with out wifi no need to go with jb and unlock the only other thing you could do is find somebody on AT&T then they can get ultrasn0w or Blacksn0w of Cydia for you.
     
  14. stormypenguin thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2008
    #14
    I'm pretty lost right now, I did what you all had suggested, but WiFi is still no showing up... I'm sort of an idiot when it comes to this stuff, so if there are very specific instructions on what do next... it would help immensely...
     
  15. stormypenguin thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2008
    #15
    Alright, I did the ultrasn0w bit. Now at the carrier logo space, it says Searching...

    Next steps...?

    Thank you all..
     
  16. jmann macrumors 604

    jmann

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2007
    Location:
    bump on a log in a hole in the bottom of the sea
    #16
    Go to settings > general > network, and then turn off 3G. and reinsert your sim card. or you might need to reboot.
     
  17. stormypenguin thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2008
  18. stormypenguin thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2008
    #18
    I figured the rest out on my own, in case anyone has this problem, I'll post what I did...

    I thought ultrasn0w might not be working, so I uninstalled it and installed blacksn0w instead... it seems to be working now, the t-mobile icon appeared.
     
  19. thelatinist macrumors 603

    thelatinist

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2009
    Location:
    Connecticut, USA
    #19
    People were assuming that you used PwnageTool in order to preserve the 4.26.08 modem firmware (baseband). Your phone had already been upgraded to 3.1.2 stock, though, so you had the latest 5.11.07 baseband. Ultrasn0w works for the former, blacksn0w for the latter.
     
  20. iPhone-power macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2009
    #20
    I told the OP in post 3 he hadn't unlocked his phone, but I guess he/she chose to ignore that.
     

Share This Page