Make Macrumors Ad-Free (No Strings)

Discussion in 'Site and Forum Feedback' started by ArmCortexA8, Aug 5, 2015.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. ArmCortexA8, Aug 5, 2015
    Last edited by a moderator: Aug 5, 2015

ArmCortexA8 macrumors 6502a

Dear Gang

I have been using the web for over 20 years, and I am sick to death of ads. They are the rose in my side for far too long. Additionally we the people are not asked if we want these ads - no permission - no request. Also since I am in Australia, most of these ads are not applicable either. I am not here to financially support a site via ads or any other method of monetisation. If you want me to view ads - you pay me or I block them. E.g. Macrumors.com has over 16 ads alone, and the forums have 7 ads - not acceptable.

2. zhenya macrumors 603

zhenya

What is your point? The permission is granted by you choosing to access the site.

If you feel that there is a better way to support the site, well there is. You can become a contributing member for $25/year and most ads will be removed as a side benefit.

3. ArmCortexA8, Aug 5, 2015

ArmCortexA8 thread starter macrumors 6502a

I support the site by visiting it, that's my only support. I am not here for ads to be forced down my throat without my permission. Im saying there should be not ads on Macrumors.com - and 17 for the main site and 7 ads for the forums is ridiculous. If they want me to see ads, they can pay me to view them.

4. keysofanxiety, Aug 5, 2015

keysofanxiety macrumors 604

keysofanxiety

Could you remind me how much you pay MR towards their updates, reviews, offers, and website maintenance costs?

Perhaps a little knowledge of economics in the digital age would serve you well.

You don't expect to pay for all the articles they write, so why you expect them to pay you for adverts (which goes towards covering their work/time) is astonishing.