"Make my life easier" is back in Cydia

Discussion in 'Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks' started by psywzrd, Sep 19, 2009.

  1. psywzrd macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2008
    #1
    For those of you that missed it the first time around, Saurik has added the "make my life easier" option to Cydia again. I missed it the first time around myself so I made sure to take advantage of it this time around. Thanks to Jay for adding this back in!
     
  2. Lemons! macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2009
    #2
    When you did this, do you get the "This device has a pending TSS request" message?
     
  3. EatMyApple macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2008
    #3
    I got that message. Tells me to check back tomorrow.
     
  4. Baccarat macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2009
    Location:
    Houston, Texas, USA
    #4
    I did too but after I closed Cydia and waited a few minutes, it now says at the top of the home screen:

    This device has a 3.1 ECID SHSH on file.
     
  5. BitStreak macrumors newbie

    BitStreak

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2009
    #5
  6. Lemons! macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2009
    #6
    Mine still says the "TSS request" message. May I ask what version your phone is? Is it 3G or 3GS, did you already have the ECID SHSH on file prior to this?
     
  7. spalter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2009
    #7
    Oh ****... i clicked on "i hate jailbraiking" by an oversight. now the "make my life easier" function is away... what can i do to get it back?
     
  8. fuzion11 macrumors 65816

    fuzion11

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2008
    Location:
    Hamilton, Ontario
    #8
    I did the same thing the first time it came out on September 8th

    try clicking on the word "developer" at the very bottom of the cydia home page.
     
  9. spalter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2009
    #9
    yes, thank you for your help. by clicking on "developing" the iphone just asks for opening a javascript... so this does not work.
     
  10. fuzion11 macrumors 65816

    fuzion11

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2008
    Location:
    Hamilton, Ontario
    #10
    Oh sorry, it worked last time.

    Maybe tweet saurik and he'll explain a way to fix it up.
     
  11. lionheartednyhc macrumors 65816

    lionheartednyhc

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2009
  12. dhlizard macrumors G4

    dhlizard

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2009
    Location:
    The Jailbreak Community
    #12
    Isn't this feature only enabled for 3GS phones ??
     
  13. EatMyApple macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2008
    #13
    Mine still says "This device has a pending TSS request. The TSS queue is deep: check tomorrow."

    When it does become available, how will we be able to get this info? Or will we even need them? Just jailbreak and forever good?
     
  14. darngooddesign macrumors G3

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2007
    Location:
    Atlanta, GA
    #14
    I think so since they are the only ones that are a PITA to JB.
     
  15. Baccarat macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2009
    Location:
    Houston, Texas, USA
    #15
    I'm sure Saurik has a huge queue of signature requests that may take awhile to process. He has to be careful with how often he makes requests to Apple's servers or he might get his server IP's banned.

    Once 3.1 is jailbroken and you need to restore, you will edit the /etc/hosts file on the computer that is running iTunes and set the IP address of the Apple authentication servers to Saurik's IP address. Then when iTunes goes out to get the signatures for your device ID, Saurik's servers return the stored version.

    The details are posted on Saurik's site:
    http://www.saurik.com/id/12
     
  16. EatMyApple macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2008
    #16
    Ahhhh! Thank you for the info!
     
  17. badgerman macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2008
    #17
    Mine has 3.0 shsh on file. I have jb 3.0. 3gs. Is that ok or do I need 3.1.
     
  18. calvy macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2007
    #18
    I bet he has a BotNet he controls to do it all.
     
  19. thelatinist macrumors 603

    thelatinist

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2009
    Location:
    Connecticut, USA
    #19
    Saurik said somewhere that he has already requested 3.1 SHSHs for anyone who has a 3.0 SHSH on file, so you should be all set. Since he already had our ECIDs, he could make the request without asking for any new info from us. He will continue to get SHSHs for each version as it comes out.
     
  20. lionheartednyhc macrumors 65816

    lionheartednyhc

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2009
    #20
    Is this still up? I keep loading cydia and don't see the button :mad: Is there a way to manually do it?
     
  21. canuhandlethis8 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2009
    #21
    I cannot even get cydia to load..it opens and closes itself right away...anyway to get this without loading directly into cydia?
     
  22. Data macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2006
    #22
    My 3gS is on 3.0 jb but cydia says it has a 3.1 ecid shsh file on file, is this normal?, since i am on 3.0 and not 3.1, thank you for the info.
     
  23. loki007420 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2009
    Location:
    Detroit
    #23

    I have the same question...
     
  24. Lemons! macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2009
    #24
    It is because this is the ECID SHSH 3.1 file for when the update of 3.1.2 or 3.2 comes out.

    the 3.0 ECID SHSH is already passed. this current one is for futureproofing.
     
  25. Data macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2006

Share This Page