malware alert every time I open MacRumors!!

Discussion in 'Site and Forum Feedback' started by INEEDANOTEBOOK, Jan 7, 2011.

  1. INEEDANOTEBOOK macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2010
    Location:
    Icy City
    #1
    It happened for the first time yesterday.
    Happened again just a few seconds ago.
    What's going on, here?
     
  2. tjb1 macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2010
    Location:
    Pennsylvania, USA
    #2
  3. GGJstudios macrumors Westmere

    GGJstudios

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    #3
    What, exactly, is the nature and content of the alert? Screen captures would be helpful.
     
  4. Looon macrumors 6502a

    Looon

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2009
  5. INEEDANOTEBOOK thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2010
    Location:
    Icy City
    #5
    A MacAfee window appears, saying that it detected one malware when accessing the site, and disappears.

    Then if I open the McAfee console, it shows a new element in the quarantine section.

    It doesn't say precisely what it is...
    Here is what appears in the section:

    /Users/(myname)/Library/Caches/com.apple.Safari/Cache.db-journal

    And that's it. I can't click on it in order to have more info.
     
  6. GGJstudios macrumors Westmere

    GGJstudios

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    #6
    That's strange. It should allow you to see what the nature of the threat is. It could be a false alarm or it could be a file on your system that contains some Windows malware. There is nothing malicious about this site, obviously. Have you downloaded apps or plug-ins from "questionable" sites, such as torrent or porn sites? If you haven't, the chances are extremely remote that you could have Mac malware on your computer.

    Mac Virus/Malware Info
     
  7. tjb1 macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2010
    Location:
    Pennsylvania, USA
    #7
    Beat you to posting the link! :)
     
  8. GGJstudios macrumors Westmere

    GGJstudios

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    #8
    Yes, you did! :)
     
  9. tjb1 macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2010
    Location:
    Pennsylvania, USA
    #9
    Didnt want to steal all your thunder, I left it unnamed :p
     
  10. INEEDANOTEBOOK thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2010
    Location:
    Icy City
    #10
    Don't know. I'm studying McAfee menus to see if I can have more info.
    Anyhow, I haven't had such messages in years, and suddenly two in two days, both exactly when I open McRumors... :confused::confused:

    I didn't download anything -- except for the new OS version.
     
  11. GGJstudios macrumors Westmere

    GGJstudios

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    #11
    You're welcome to steal my thunder. As long as the information gets out there, it doesn't matter to me who gets credit.
    I've never cared for McAfee, but I would at least expect it to give a reason for quarantining something. You really don't need any anti-virus software on your Mac (read the link to find out why). If it were me, I'd uninstall McAfee and forget about it.
     
  12. INEEDANOTEBOOK, Jan 8, 2011
    Last edited: Jan 8, 2011

    INEEDANOTEBOOK thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2010
    Location:
    Icy City
    #12
    ... That must be it. A message that I should be doing something else at that time of the night!:cool:
     
  13. Tyler23 macrumors 603

    Tyler23

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2010
    Location:
    Atlanta, GA
    #13
    There's nothing else to do this time of night..except drink..which I am doing :cool:
     
  14. INEEDANOTEBOOK, Jan 8, 2011
    Last edited by a moderator: Jan 14, 2011

    INEEDANOTEBOOK thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2010
    Location:
    Icy City
    #14
    GGJstudios --

    Yeah, I've the threads on that. But it's just that my school wants us to do so... and since they provide it free and that it doesn't slow down my system... I don't mind. I think it might be to protect non-mac users. I don't know.

    It's just that I find it weird that it pops up just when I come here...

    Ok, there is no way I can open the thread in the quarantine section. Seems that the McAfee for windows allows to do it, but not the mac version. I give up...

    Edit:
    I've opened MacRumors several times since then, and nothing popped.
    Don't know what to think about it...
     
  15. tjb1 macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2010
    Location:
    Pennsylvania, USA
    #15
    Yesterday I got a malware warning from Macrumors...visiting the "What you purchased today" or whatever its called. Page 26 came and Chrome gave a warning about malware, dont quite remember the site but it ended in .au.
     
  16. arn macrumors god

    arn

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2001
    #16
    Not sure.

    Anything's possible -- perhaps errant ad? I expect we'd get more complaints if it was something served up by the site itself.

    Please take a screenshot if it happens again. That will help a lot.

    arn
     
  17. tjb1, Jan 21, 2011
    Last edited: Jan 21, 2011

    tjb1 macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2010
    Location:
    Pennsylvania, USA
    #17
  18. xUKHCx Administrator emeritus

    xUKHCx

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2006
    Location:
    The Kop
    #18
    I have changed the offending link (an image of some headphones hosted on that site) so it is should no longer present you with that warning when you visit that page.
     

Share This Page