Max RAM Black Macbook 2.0 Core 2 Duo

Discussion in 'MacBook' started by tensix, Jan 12, 2009.

  1. tensix macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2009
    Location:
    Ohio
    #1
    I know that Apple lists this model as only being able to use 2 GB of RAM and other have reported that it will utilize 3.3 GB RAM if you put 2 x 2 GB chips in it. I first put a 2 GB chip and a 1 GB chip and the "about this mac page" showed 3 GB RAM. I then decided to put 2 x 2 GB chips in and the "about this mac page" shows 4 GB. If it is only utilizing 3.3 GB then would it show 3.3 GB RAM or do I have a freak of nature blackbook?
     
  2. Cave Man macrumors 604

    Cave Man

    #2
    Here's how you sort it out:

    1. Core Solo/Core Duo MacBook = 2 gb max.
    2. Core 2 Duo with Calistoga chipset = 3.2 gb addressable from 4 gb installed.
    3. Core 2 Duo with Santa Rosa chipset = 6 gb.
    4. Core 2 Duo with Nvidia 9400M chipset = 6 gb.
     
  3. jav6454 macrumors P6

    jav6454

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2007
    Location:
    1 Geostationary Tower Plaza
    #3
    No, its a normal behavior. Some MacBooks that were developed will see 4GB RAM, but will only be able to address/use 3.25 or 3.5 GB RAM.
     
  4. tensix thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2009
    Location:
    Ohio
    #4
    How do I determine my chipset version? It is a MacBook 13-inch Late 2006
     
  5. jav6454 macrumors P6

    jav6454

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2007
    Location:
    1 Geostationary Tower Plaza
    #5
    Click Me

    Use that and the date when you purchased your MacBook. After that its downhill..
     
  6. sprale macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2007
    Location:
    Republic of Texas
    #6
    Wonderful resource, I can't believe I never looked there before!
     
  7. radicaldog macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2010
    #7
    (Bump.) Is that just official information or is the actual supported memory?
     

Share This Page