Max RAM on late 2008 MacBook Pro

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by journeyingsoul, Aug 12, 2014.

  1. journeyingsoul macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2014
    #1
    Hello, I have a Macbook Pro (5,1 / A1286 model) 2.93GHz running Mavericks.. currently with 4GB Ram. Does anyone know if this model supports 8GB, as i have been receiving conflicting information from various sites..

    All help appreciated.

    Thanks
     
  2. MagicBoy macrumors 68040

    MagicBoy

    Joined:
    May 28, 2006
    Location:
    Manchester, UK
    #2
    8GB, with the latest firmware installed and OS X 10.6 upwards.

    I'd order guaranteed compatible RAM for the MBP, rather than generic PC RAM to ensure compatability.
     
  3. journeyingsoul thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2014
    #3
    Thanks. How can I check if I have latest firmware? I recently upgraded from snow leopard to Mavericks, would this mean firmware is the most current? (Sorry if the question sounds silly.. im a newbie to Apple)

    Thanks again. .









     
  4. Weaselboy Moderator

    Weaselboy

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2005
    Location:
    California
    #4
    Just run software update and if there is a firmware update available for your machine it will show up there. There has not been an update on those 2008 models in forever so I bet you installed the latest update ages ago.
     
  5. aziatiklover macrumors 68030

    aziatiklover

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2011
    Location:
    8.8.8.8 and 8.8.4.4
    #5
    Check your bootrom version, and if it is like this you should be able to run 8gb of ram max.

    Boot ROM Version: MBP51.007E.B06
     
  6. journeyingsoul thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2014
    #6
    Thanks. Boot ROM Version states : MBP51.007E.B05

    Does this mean I'm stuck with 4gb ?




     
  7. journeyingsoul thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2014
    #7
    Thanks. It appears the firmware was not updated.

    It now shows as: Boot ROM Version: MBP51.007E.B06

    Has anyone increased RAM to 8GB successfully on this model? I called Applecare and they say it only goes to 4GB Max..





     
  8. Steve686 macrumors 68030

    Steve686

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2007
    Location:
    US>FL>Miami/Dade>Sunny Isles Beach>Condo
    #8
    Flash the boot rom. I did it to my 2008 Unibody and 8 gigs worked.
     
  9. RedRaven571 macrumors 65816

    RedRaven571

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2009
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    #9
    I did about 1 year ago, 8GB and running fine; used Crucial RAM.
     

    Attached Files:

  10. journeyingsoul thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2014
    #10
    Thanks. Can you provide me with the 8GB memory kit part number that you used to upgrade? i want to make sure i buy the correct memory..




     
  11. aziatiklover macrumors 68030

    aziatiklover

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2011
    Location:
    8.8.8.8 and 8.8.4.4
    #11
    Here is my thread about having issue!
    http://forums.macrumors.com/showthread.php?t=1760095

    Then I bought 2 sticks of 4GB and it works like a charm now.

    http://www.tigerdirect.com/applications/SearchTools/item-details.asp?EdpNo=4505186&sku=C13-6130
     
  12. eneisch macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2008
    #12
    Check out OWC at the link below. They have information and sell the memory you need. Since they specialize in Mac upgrades the products they sell should work well. I upgraded my 2008 unibody MacBook to 4GB shortly after purchase and their memory is still working fine 6 years later.

    http://eshop.macsales.com/shop/memory/Apple_MacBook_MacBook_Pro/Upgrade/DDR3

    Hope this helps!
     
  13. RedRaven571 macrumors 65816

    RedRaven571

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2009
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    #13
    Crucial 8GB Kit (4GB x 2) DDR3 1066 MT/s (PC3-8500) CL7 SODIMM 204-Pin Mac Memory CT2K4G3S1067M

    $72.99 on amazon
     
  14. snaky69 macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2008
    #14
    There is no such thing as RAM "for Macs", anyone who tells you otherwise is either misinformed or full of it.

    Buy RAM from a reputable brand from a shop with a good return policy should you get bad sticks, and you're good to go.
     
  15. MagicBoy macrumors 68040

    MagicBoy

    Joined:
    May 28, 2006
    Location:
    Manchester, UK
    #15
    I never said there was "RAM for Macs". Stop making things up!

    I've always used (and recommend) Crucial RAM. Their configurator just works.
     
  16. Steve686 macrumors 68030

    Steve686

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2007
    Location:
    US>FL>Miami/Dade>Sunny Isles Beach>Condo
    #16
    He's referring to RAM that has been tested in MACS and has no timing or other issues I believe.

    Crucial is also my favorite memory. If I recall, Crucial formed from Micron computers? Had a Micron PC back in '92.
     
  17. MagicBoy macrumors 68040

    MagicBoy

    Joined:
    May 28, 2006
    Location:
    Manchester, UK
    #17
    Got it in one.
     
  18. journeyingsoul thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2014
    #18
    It works ! Hoorah !

    Just to update - ordered the 4GBx2 upgrade, installed it this morning and its good! a significant improvement in speed..

    Thanks to everyone for responding to my post..
     
  19. aziatiklover macrumors 68030

    aziatiklover

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2011
    Location:
    8.8.8.8 and 8.8.4.4
    #19
    Brand,price,where? I just returned my 8gb corsair because I thought $112 was expensive. So I am still shopping around for something close to $65. I still can't believe I paid $75 at Frys for 16gb 4 years ago for the 2010 mac mini, and now price just goes up.
     
  20. jav6454 macrumors P6

    jav6454

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2007
    Location:
    1 Geostationary Tower Plaza
    #20
    8GB is the highest it'll ever go. All Late 2008 models can get 8GB standard.
     
  21. journeyingsoul thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2014
    #21

    I purchased mine from crucial uk. crucial ram. 65 uk pounds. Bit pricey but well worth it when it just works.
     
  22. jav6454 macrumors P6

    jav6454

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2007
    Location:
    1 Geostationary Tower Plaza
    #22
    Tad pricey. However, did that include shipping?
     
  23. journeyingsoul thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2014
    #23
    Yes.. it was bit pricey but Shipping was included.. and it works without any issues.
     

Share This Page