Max your C2D ram -- 2x2GB Patriot RAM @ $255

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by whateverandever, May 5, 2007.

  1. whateverandever macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2006
    Location:
    Baltimore
    #1
    If anyone's interested in maxing their RAM (and the RAM of a friend), Fry's has a killer deal on Patriot RAM. $255 shipped for 2 2GB sticks of Patriot DDR2-667 SO-DIMM ram.

    You could either split it with someone else who has a C2D machine or sell the other stick on eBay ;)

    Wish I had a C2D machine, I'd pick this kit up.

    http://shop3.outpost.com/product/5247587

    Thanks to CrazyHorse @ Slickdeals
     
  2. xfiftyfour macrumors 68030

    xfiftyfour

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2006
    Location:
    Clemson, SC
    #2
    Jeez, I can't believe no one else replied here - amazing deal. Never had any first-hand experience with Patriot, but my goodness.. $125 for a 2GB stick is amazing.
     
  3. juanster macrumors 68020

    juanster

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2007
    Location:
    toronto
  4. tristan macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2003
    Location:
    high-rise in beautiful bethesda
  5. whateverandever thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2006
    Location:
    Baltimore
    #5
    I have no idea. I wish I had Frys local to me...
    If they do ship to Canada, I doubt it's free shipping.
     
  6. netdog macrumors 603

    netdog

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2006
    Location:
    London
    #6
    I thought the C2D iMac and MBP could only deal with 3GB. Is that wrong?
     
  7. masse macrumors 6502a

    masse

    Joined:
    May 4, 2007
    Location:
    MA/GA
    #7
    no you are right.


    BUT, that's why he said split the price with a friend.

    And, the new macbook pro's will hopefully support upwards of 4 gb.

    If they make new macbook pro's.
     
  8. thepetemeister macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2006
    #8
    just placed my order. been looking for these prices to come down for a while. i thought RAMJET.com had a good price for one 2GB stick at $250. Thanks for the tip.

    Any idea if the Mac Mini's will accept 2GB sticks?
     
  9. netdog macrumors 603

    netdog

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2006
    Location:
    London
    #9
    Any chance a firmware update could enable current C2D MBPs and iMacs to support 4GB?
     
  10. CanadaRAM macrumors G5

    CanadaRAM

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2004
    Location:
    On the Left Coast - Victoria BC Canada
    #10
    No.
     
  11. juanster macrumors 68020

    juanster

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2007
    Location:
    toronto
    #11
    and the macbook from what i understand can do 3gb as well right...?
     
  12. wildthing1994 macrumors member

    wildthing1994

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2007
    #12
    Could you put both into a mb or mbp? So you would have 4gb ram. If you did what would happen.
     
  13. CanadaRAM macrumors G5

    CanadaRAM

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2004
    Location:
    On the Left Coast - Victoria BC Canada
    #13
    Please try a Search: We have covered this numerous times.

    MacBooks and Minis cannot take a 2 Gb module, nor can any CoreDuo Mac. Only MacBook Pro Core2Duos and iMac Core2Duos can take a 2 Gb module + a 1 Gb module for a max. of 3 Gb.

    The limit is 3 Gb RAM. You can install 2 x 2 Gb if you feel like it, but the OS on this particular chipset will only utilize 3 Gb of that, so it is a waste to install 4 Gb.
     
  14. netdog macrumors 603

    netdog

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2006
    Location:
    London
    #14
    Seems so strange that it can't support 4GB if it can support a 2GB simm. Oh well.
     
  15. Andrew D. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2007
    Location:
    Chicago, IL
    #15
    Wow, that's a great deal.. and Fry's is just a quick drive away from me. To bad I have no use for it.. yet.
     
  16. YoYoMa macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2006
    #16
    How big of a deal is it that this RAM is CAS 5 instead of CAS 4? Also. what CAS level is Apple RAM and will this slow down the Apple RAM if it's CAS 4?
     
  17. taylorwilsdon macrumors 68000

    taylorwilsdon

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2006
    Location:
    Bay Area
    #17
    I'll split one of this kits if somebody is interested. I'd just feel dumb if I bought it and I'd have 3GB in my laptop and 3GB out!
     
  18. whateverandever thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2006
    Location:
    Baltimore
    #18
    Apple doesn't use one fixed RAM supplier, but my guess is they use CAS 5 ram. I know my MBP came with Hynix RAM in it. It's not going to make a huge difference either way. RAM on notebooks isn't meant for super-performance, so getting slim timings isn't that big of a deal.

    You're really not going to feel a noticeable difference in computer usage between CAS 4 and CAS 5.
     
  19. gr8tfly macrumors 603

    gr8tfly

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2006
    Location:
    ~119W 34N
    #19
    According to their [Apple's] developer notes, they use CAS 5.
     
  20. joshwest macrumors 65816

    joshwest

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2005
    #20
    thanks for the little update im gonna push my iMac and my Mbp to 3gb's now
     
  21. thepetemeister macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2006
    #21
    2GB sticks arrived today. Installed one in my MBP. Beautiful. No problems whatsoever.
     

Share This Page