Maximimum Mac Mini CPU upgrade

Discussion in 'Mac mini' started by arjen, Mar 5, 2010.

  1. arjen macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2007
    #1
    What is the maximum CPU I can put in my current 2Ghz C2D MacMini, does anybody know?
     
  2. Bennieboy© macrumors 65816

    Bennieboy©

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2009
    Location:
    england
    #2
    you cant change the cpu in your mini, the cpu is soldered into place ;)
     
  3. Gordy macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    May 22, 2005
    Location:
    Bristol, UK
    #3
    It depends some of the older models weren't soldered. I'm not sure which models started the change though. You'd have to check.
     
  4. Bennieboy© macrumors 65816

    Bennieboy©

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2009
    Location:
    england
    #4
    to my knowledge only the core solo and early core duo models were socketed, all core 2 duos are soldered into place ;)
     
  5. opeter macrumors 65816

    opeter

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2007
    Location:
    Slovenia, EU
    #5
    Nope, that's not quite true. Only the 2009 (early and late) models are soldered. The last Core 2 Duo Mac mini that was socketed was the 2007 model with the Core 2 Duo T7200 2,0 GHz model.

    One of my friends had one of these.
    He later upgraded the T5600 (1,83 GHz C2D) CPU to the quite expensive T7600 C2D 2,33 GHz version.
     
  6. Gordy macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    May 22, 2005
    Location:
    Bristol, UK
    #6
    Some of the C2D models were not soldered

    Looks like the mar 09 ones and later are soldered.
    http://arstechnica.com/apple/news/2...details-soldered-processor-drive-upgrades.ars
     
  7. milk242 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2007
    #7
    I think its basically if your Mac Mini has the Nvidia 9400m graphics chip then the CPU is soldered in.
     
  8. arjen thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2007
    #8
    That's too bad. That would explain why ifixit.com doesn't have a how to guide for it.
     
  9. pastrychef macrumors 601

    pastrychef

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2006
    Location:
    New York City, NY
    #9
    Mac minis that originally shipped with a Core Duo or Core2Duo with GMA950 graphics can be upgraded to a T7600 2.33GHz CPU. I have one in mine and it works perfectly.

    Side note: Mac minis that shipped with Core Duos can only be upgraded to 2GB of RAM. Mac minis that shipped with Core2Duos/GMA950 graphics can be upgraded to 3GB or 4GB, however, only about 3.2GB will be usable.
     
  10. OriginalMacRat macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2007
    #10
    2.93GHz

    Any reason a 2.93GHz Core 2 Duo processor wouldn't work? (Power/heat?)

    They are on sale the week of June 26, 2011 for $89.99 :)
     
  11. philipma1957 macrumors 603

    philipma1957

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2010
    Location:
    Howell, New Jersey
    #11
    socket does not match. the 2006 to 2008 minis have a socket that matches the t7600 cpu that is the top of the line cpu.

    If you could take apart a 2009 mini you could put in a 3.06 c2d. no known photos of anyone doing this.
     
  12. Johnnybegoode macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2011
    Location:
    Carlisle, Cumbria, UK
    #12
    Just spotted T7700 Core 2 Duo 2.4 Ghz at £91, rather than T7600 2.33 at £181.

    Know the T7600 is a workable upgade, but is there any reason I can't fit the T7700 instead?

    Got a Mac Mini 1,1 with Core Duo 1.66 at the mo.

    Thanks

    Johnnybegoode
     
  13. philipma1957, Jun 26, 2011
    Last edited: Jun 26, 2011

    philipma1957 macrumors 603

    philipma1957

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2010
    Location:
    Howell, New Jersey
  14. b.stolk macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2008
    #14
    I have a 2007 mac mini with GMA950.

    Is there *any* way to get a CPU with better (Intel HD) graphics?

    Thanks.

    bram
     
  15. mdgm macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2010
    #15
    Buy a new Mac Mini.
     
  16. AlexMaximus macrumors 6502

    AlexMaximus

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2006
    Location:
    A400M Base
    #16
    Ask a different question..

    Soldering is not a rocket science, not at all. If you did you homework and you have identified a workable, yet faster CPU that is usable with the OSX, go for it.
    There are tons of experts out there that do simple soldering for live.
    I would ask those guys down below or similar. And I think the cpu you have in mind is not even BGA.

    http://www.ebay.com/itm/MICROPROCES...530?pt=LH_DefaultDomain_0&hash=item484198164a

    or

    http://www.ebay.com/itm/PS3-Repair-...346?pt=LH_DefaultDomain_0&hash=item3cd53189f2

    I think the question is not if its possible, but if its economical feasible.
    (If it can help you one OSX version further along and not be stuck with Lion, it might be worth shooting for)

    If you go for it, let us know. I would be interested in such a cool mod.
    Good luck.

    :cool:
     
  17. Intell macrumors P6

    Intell

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Location:
    Inside
    #17
    On Core2Duo and CoreDuo machines, the Intell GMA 950 is not a part of the CPU. It is a separate chip that is soldered onto the logicboard and is not upgradable.
     
  18. pastrychef macrumors 601

    pastrychef

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2006
    Location:
    New York City, NY
    #18
    As Intell stated, you can not upgrade the GMA950.
     

Share This Page