MBA vs MBP, Durability vs Power?

Discussion in 'Buying Tips and Advice' started by mbmosher, Nov 4, 2010.

1. mbmosher macrumors newbie

So I'm looking to get a new laptop, which is also my primary (only) computer. I have mixed use for it, though as a visual artist I run some combination of photoshop / illustrator / indesign / maya about every other day. I'm looking at either a maxed out 13" MBA (2.13, 4gb ram, super drive) or the basic MBP 15". With AppleCare they are both about the same price, so I can't figure out which would be better. While the MBP is clearly better performance wise, my laptop travels 1+ mile a day by bike, and I've gone through 3 hard-drives in as many years with my current macbook, so the solid stateness of the MBA and light weight is really appealing. I know I could put an SSD in the MBP but can not afford to do that right now. So here's the big question, does the MBA have enough power to keep running the Creative Suite light duty for 3-4 years?

2. r0k macrumors 68040

r0k

Where will you keep all your files? The sizes of the SSD available with the new MBA are very limiting. If you use an external drive to keep older files you might get away with one of the new MBAs. I remember seeing benchmarks for the new MBAs that compared favorably to the existing 13 in MBP.

You could always pop an SSD drive in your existing machine and be done with that whole hard drive replacement fiasco.

3. applepearpp macrumors regular

you'll need a 15" MBP and perhaps an external monitor. MBA is not meant for performance though its performance is impressive given the size and spec.

with a MBP, you can add more ram and hard drive space. it's your call, nevertheless. a MPA can get more space by plugging it into an external hard drive.

4. plumosa macrumors regular

plumosa

why not get the MBP and then upgrade to SSD when/if the hard drive fails? The prices will be cheaper then and the capacity will be greater.