MBA vs rMBP for student

Discussion in 'MacBook Air' started by mtjensen22, Jul 30, 2012.

1. mtjensen22 macrumors newbie

So I'm starting university in the Fall and am looking to upgrade from my mid 2009 MBP. I've been torn between these the 13" MBA maxed out or getting at 2.6 Ghz rMBP with 16Gb. I'm majoring in Comp Sci so I'll be using it for programming and the usual school stuff, but I'm also really into gaming. I just don't want to buy a MBA and not be able to play at least some games...I've never used integrated graphics so I'm not too confident in their ability.

Any help or input would be greatly appreciated!

2. GREEN4U macrumors 6502a

If you game, get the rMBP. But you shouldn't game, YOU SHOULD STUDY!

3. jav6454 macrumors P6

jav6454

4. plucky duck macrumors 6502

What games are you looking to play? I don't know how well games will be handled in non-native resolution in the rMBP and how they'll look.

The HD4000 is not a gamer's dream, but if you're not playing the latest and greatest and don't mind playing on low settings it is doable, depending on the game.

The HD4000 on the 2012 13" Air is decent for gaming. Tried HD3000 and it's almost there, but still shows apparent stuttering/insufficient frame rate, enough so that it affects me enjoying the game. I'd imagine going down to the 11" model with a slightly lower native resolution will help me in this regard.

5. dukebound85 macrumors P6

dukebound85

I'll be honest OP, your current mbp is MORE than adequate for university work

All your are doing is satisfying a want (which is fine), but don't be fooled thinking you need it for school purposes

With that said, I would get the mba between the 2 and pick up an xbox on the side. Unless you like spending alot of money, then go get the rmbp by all means.

I personally, would keep your current mbp and grap a console or build a rig if you are at all concerned about your budget (as most students are)

6. GREEN4U macrumors 6502a