MBP 13, no 6GB/s with intel 510 ssd

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by desantii, Mar 6, 2011.

  1. desantii macrumors 6502

    desantii

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2006
    Location:
    Aurora, IL
    #1
    I was poting this in another thread but just wanted to give everyone a heads up, it might be with the 13 inch only but apparently 6GB/s is not working with the intel 510 ssd. I just got a new 13 inch macbook pro and installed a 120gb Intel 510 drive. Profiler shows 6gbps but negotiated only at 3gbps, when it should be 6gbps

    Vendor: Intel
    Product: 6 Series Chipset
    Link Speed: 6 Gigabit
    Negotiated Link Speed: 3 Gigabit
    Description: AHCI Version 1.30 Supported

    INTEL SSDSC2MH120A2:

    Capacity: 120.03 GB (120,034,123,776 bytes)
    Model: INTEL SSDSC2MH120A2
    Revision: PPG2
    Serial Number: LNEL105500K1120CGN
    Native Command Queuing: Yes
    Queue Depth: 32
    Removable Media: No
    Detachable Drive: No
    BSD Name: disk0
    Medium Type: Solid State
    TRIM Support: No
    Partition Map Type: GPT (GUID Partition Table)
    S.M.A.R.T. status: Verified
    Volumes:
    Capacity: 209.7 MB (209,715,200 bytes)
    Writable: Yes
    BSD Name: disk0s1
     
  2. BJonson macrumors 6502a

    BJonson

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2010
  3. mac jones macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2006
    #3
    What are you going to do about this?

    I have one unopened. But this might be the Macbook's fault.

    Bleeding edge alright. ;)

    Best to let the various sites know about this, after it's confirmed (don't ask me, mine's unopened and is going to stay that way) , As It's news, on a slow news week.

    Engadget, Gizmodo, this site, Anand, etc..
     
  4. Kauai macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2010
    #4
    Well great, now it may not even be worth it to wait for the Vertex 3.
     
  5. desantii thread starter macrumors 6502

    desantii

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2006
    Location:
    Aurora, IL
    #5
    An its not just an OS issue, I have a bootcamp patition and also getting 3gbps speed on the windows side.
     
  6. mac jones macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2006
    #6
    Regardless of the fault, this most definitely can be fixed by firmware, on either side.

    I hope :D
     
  7. KJmoon117 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2007
    Location:
    NC
    #7
    This is certainly a "what the ****?" issue.

    I never really handled an SSD before but isn't there a jumper you might have to set next to the SATA port to configure it to 6Gbps?...

    Maybe it's the SSD, seeing that I've seen a video of somebody running a C300 with 6Gbps.

    EDIT: The video of the C300.
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=lfe4NNbNzps
     
  8. mac jones macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2006
    #8
    Yes that's right! I remember reading that somebody got the 6gb link working with this drive, so it must be the Intel.

    The 510 is really not looking up to the task now.
     
  9. desantii thread starter macrumors 6502

    desantii

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2006
    Location:
    Aurora, IL
    #9
    I saw that too, maybe its an intel firmware issue? or maybe again, something that apple can fix
     
  10. desantii thread starter macrumors 6502

    desantii

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2006
    Location:
    Aurora, IL
  11. Tyrion macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2002
    #11
    This is very alarming. I recommend waiting for Anandtech's MBP review; they usually look into these sorts of things. That C300 video is even more bewildering, because the 510 uses a similar Marvell controller (the second-gen version of the controller on the C300).

    I have a 17" MBP on the way and got close to pulling the trigger on a 510. Glad I didn't. I'll wait for the first few reviews on SATA-III drives in the new MBPs.
     
  12. stephens macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2011
    #12
    I have just registered so I can give you my experience with this issue.

    I have a 15" 2011 MBP with a 250gb intel 510 SSD.

    When I first installed the drive it showed as 3 Gigabit negotiated speed, but the problem was fixed with a SMC reset. It now shows 6 Gigabit negotiated speed.

    See here for how to do an SMC reset:

    http://support.apple.com/kb/ht3964

    Hope that helps!
     
  13. desantii thread starter macrumors 6502

    desantii

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2006
    Location:
    Aurora, IL
    #13
    I did do a reset after the ram, not sure if teh drive was installed already or not but will try again tonight, thanks
     
  14. stephens macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2011
    #14
    No problem. I think unplugging the battery while installing the SSD could avoid this issue alltogether, but I'm unsure on that.
     
  15. stylinexpat macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2009
  16. mrxad81 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2011
    #16
    When you do the SMC reset, is it still 6Gb/s after reboot or is it changing back to 3Gb/s?

    I will recieve my MBP and the Intel SSD 510 on Thursday.
     
  17. stephens macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2011
  18. desantii thread starter macrumors 6502

    desantii

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2006
    Location:
    Aurora, IL
    #18
    Ok, I did the reset, it went to 6gbps!!! BUT

    After doing an OS reinstall (have a lot of beachballs for 30+ seconds) it is back at 3gbps, arrrggg
     
  19. 1BadMac macrumors 6502

    1BadMac

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2010
    #19
    Do another reset, watch it go to 6gbps, and leave it alone!
     
  20. mrxad81 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2011
  21. stephens macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2011
    #21
    Not had a problem with beachballs at all.

    Everything seems to open instant!
     
  22. MacRS4 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2010
    #22
    That's my video - full article is here: http://www.markc.me.uk/MarkC/Blog/Entries/2011/3/3_2011_Macbook_Pro_and_SATA_III_6Gbps.html

    Now, one thing I did do but didn't really pick up on at the time.... I noticed it only negotiated at 3Gbps not 6. I basically did an SMC reset and everything seemed to come just fine after that.
     
  23. Weaselboy Moderator

    Weaselboy

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2005
    Location:
    California
    #23
    You might want to read my post here on a Intel 510 install. Worked perfectly.
     
  24. Weaselboy Moderator

    Weaselboy

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2005
    Location:
    California
    #24
    Thanks for this info. I installed my Intel 510 this morning and your SMC reset info worked. I would not have thought of doing this, so you saved my a lot of hassle. :D
     
  25. JesseDegenerate macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2011
    #25
    I just wanted to chime in, that i had the same issue, (Link Speed: 6 Gigabit / Negotiated Link Speed: 3 Gigabit)

    in a MacBook Pro 15 i7 2.3ghz 2011 and resetting my SMC did it for me too. Thanks Weaselboy.
     

Share This Page