MBP 13" vs HP Envy 14"

Discussion in 'Buying Tips and Advice' started by IVIission, Jun 27, 2010.

1. IVIission macrumors newbie

Hello, I have been in the buyers market for the 13" MBP for a while, and since I'm a student I have been anxious to snag it up for $1100 and get a free 8GB iPod. However, I get a nagging feeling that I am buying in to Apples marketing and purchasing a product that just doesn't have the performance to go along along with the hefty price tag. Exploring my other options led me to find the HP ENVY 14", which looks very similar to the MBP.

HP also offers student discounts, and the one I customized to buy looks like this:

*Intel(R) Core(TM) i5-430M Dual Core processor (2.26GHz, 3MB L3 Cache) with Turbo Boost up to 2.53GHz
    *4GB Ram
    *320GB 7200RPM HD
    *Intel HD graphics default w/ 1GB ATI Mobility Radeon(TM) HD 5650 switchable graphics
    *14.5" diagonal HD+ HP Radiance Infinity LED Display (1600x900) (Apparently the screen is really bright and looks great in 1600x900

= $1,012.49

MBP on edu. discount (w/ free iPod touch) = $1100

So my question is the OS and iPod worth that extra $100, I would say yes. However is the extra screen size, much better processor, and discrete graphics worth the trade off?

Also, how does the ATI discrete card compare to the Nvidia 320m?

* I should add that I would like to enjoy gaming occassionally

2. Hellhammer Moderator

Hellhammer

Staff Member

The iPod is already worth 200$. Unless you really need that better CPU (use a lot CPU intensive apps), the speed of it is irrelevant. The difference ain't that big either, your documents won't be written any faster with i5 ;) The GPU is also irrelevant unless you do gaming.

So, unless you can actually take advantage of the extra speed, get the MBP, assuming that you like OS X more than Windows 7 (if you want Windows, get a PC)

3. alust2013 macrumors 601

alust2013