MBP and filevault

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by Cuniac, May 26, 2015.

?

Filevault On or Off

  1. On

    34 vote(s)
    70.8%
  2. Off

    14 vote(s)
    29.2%
  1. Cuniac macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2013
    Location:
    Phoenix
    #1
    So, how taxing is filevault on a MBP. I'm thinking of getting the 15, and I know it asks you if you want to set it up when you first turn it on. Is it super taxing? Does it affect application performance?
     
  2. T5BRICK macrumors 604

    T5BRICK

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2006
    Location:
    Oregon
    #2
    It really isn't noticeable in normal usage. I enabled it when I setup my new rMBP and it seems fast to me.
     
  3. HopefulHumanist macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2015
    #3
    Yup, same here. Had it on my old 2008 MBP too, even with a home-made Fusion drive.
     
  4. newellj macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2014
    Location:
    Boston, MA, US
    #4
    Agreed. Suggest EFI password + FileVault + Find My Mac if you carry the laptop around.
     
  5. yjchua95 macrumors 604

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2011
    Location:
    GVA, KUL, MEL (current), ZQN
    #5
    Doesn't tax it much. On my late-2013 13" rMBP, speeds were:

    1. 750MB/s read, 720MB/s write w/o FV.
    2. 730MB/s read, 690MB/s write w/ FV.

    So not too much.
     
  6. newellj macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2014
    Location:
    Boston, MA, US
    #6
    YTM. Excellent metrics on this. That is truly negligible. Thanks for that.
     
  7. Weaselboy Moderator

    Weaselboy

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2005
    Location:
    California
    #7
  8. Cuniac thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2013
    Location:
    Phoenix
    #8
    I suppose my main question is, If I decide to load Diablo 3 up. Am I going to see an FPS drop with this on.
     
  9. Weaselboy Moderator

    Weaselboy

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2005
    Location:
    California
    #9
    No... it won't impact FPS at all. You might notice a very very slight difference in load times.
     
  10. Mr.C macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2011
    Location:
    London, UK.
    #10
    How do I set those three up. Can you do it after the fact as I've already setup and started using my new 2015 13" MacBook Pro.
     
  11. yjchua95 macrumors 604

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2011
    Location:
    GVA, KUL, MEL (current), ZQN
    #11
    Yes you can.

    For Find my Mac, go to System Prefs → iCloud and scroll to the bottom to activate it.

    For EFI password, boot into Recovery and once in Recovery, click on Utilities in the top menu bar and select firmware password utility.

    For FileVault, go to System Prefs → Security and enable FileVault.
     
  12. Mr.C macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2011
    Location:
    London, UK.
    #12
    Thank you.
     
  13. Cuniac thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2013
    Location:
    Phoenix
    #13
    Will this impact my ability to dual boot into windows?
     
  14. T5BRICK macrumors 604

    T5BRICK

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2006
    Location:
    Oregon
    #14
    Nope. I'm running BootCamp with a 100GB partition for Windows 10
     

    Attached Files:

  15. newellj macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2014
    Location:
    Boston, MA, US
    #15
    Good man, well done. :)
     
  16. Nermal Moderator

    Nermal

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2002
    Location:
    New Zealand
    #16
    But with that said, note that Filevault is not supported with Diablo.
     
  17. Cuniac thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2013
    Location:
    Phoenix
    #17
    Does this mean that If I had it on it would give me an error if I tried to start it?
     
  18. T5BRICK macrumors 604

    T5BRICK

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2006
    Location:
    Oregon
    #18
    I'm able to run Diablo 3 without any issues that I've noticed.
     
  19. Montymitch macrumors regular

    Montymitch

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2009
    #19
    I had to perform a clean install on my week old rMBP because of the dreaded 'filevault encryption paused' error. Not worth it IMO.
     
  20. T5BRICK macrumors 604

    T5BRICK

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2006
    Location:
    Oregon
    #20
    This isn't a common problem, so I wouldn't worry about it.
     
  21. treichert macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2007
    Location:
    Aachen, Germany
    #21
    That's stupid. There's absolutely no difference to apps with filevault turned on.
     
  22. Skika macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2009
    #22
    - from wikipedia

    Any thoughts on this?
     
  23. Mr. Retrofire macrumors 601

    Mr. Retrofire

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2010
    Location:
    www.emiliana.cl/en
    #23
    Yeah, it is very old information, from 2013.
     
  24. Skika macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2009
    #24
    So it doesn't apply today?
     
  25. maflynn Moderator

    maflynn

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2009
    Location:
    Boston
    #25
    Based on what've read 20-30% performance hit does not appear to be accurate. I have FV enabled and there's a small barely noticeable difference. Or there was when I first turned it on. Now I don't notice anything as I've gotten used to the performance. I don't have the links but I've read some articles where the overhead is in the order of 5 percent (or in that neighborhood).
     

Share This Page