MBP: Buy Now or Wait?

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by Randizzledante, May 21, 2011.

1. Randizzledante macrumors regular

Hey all, first time poster here. Just want to get some opinions on my particular situation.

I'm looking to get a new 15" MBP. Essentially, I'm just curious if I should buy now or wait for the redesign. I'm a student so it'll be used primarily for school, with a fair amount of gaming and some video editing.

At the moment I'm sponging computer usage off my girlfriend's HP laptop, which has been getting the job done for the most part, but I do "need" my own at some point (preferably sooner rather than later.)

So between the redesign, Lion, etc., will it be worth the wait? Or should I plunge now? Thanks so much for any help!

2. Surfing@Blacks macrumors regular

wait till 2018, heard the model is going to be sweet.

3. Randizzledante thread starter macrumors regular

Yes yes, might as well wait forever, next is always gonna be better, etc etc. As helpful as this was, any better advice would be even more appreciated.

I'm asking if this one, particular upgrade will be worth the wait. Since it's been confirmed there's a redesign, along with new OS.

4. rockyroad55 macrumors 601

rockyroad55

No confirmation of the redesign. I thought the MBP were just updated this past Feb/Mar? New OS is definite this summer but they may do some sort of offer like they did with SL and offer some upgrade disc.

My advice is to wait until next week for the back to school deal with the free iPod and printer. That's the most concrete advice I can give you. They say they will update the MBA but that isn't what you want so you might as well buy the MBP now and be happy.

5. Randizzledante, May 21, 2011
    Last edited: May 21, 2011

Randizzledante thread starter macrumors regular