MBP Problems (Kernel Panics, freezing, etc.)

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by techlover828, Jun 12, 2008.

  1. techlover828 macrumors 68020

    techlover828

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2007
    #1
    Ya, so my MBP has started getting kernel panics like every .5 hours to 1 hour and it makes it so annoying to even try to work on it. I'm also getting a lot of freezings of the mouse and keyboard, it's getting so old, any ideas on how to get rid of it. I'm pretty sure it's software related, not hardware right? I know I'm not being terribly specific but if you need any other info let me know. Thanks for your help!
     
  2. iHerzeleid macrumors 6502a

    iHerzeleid

    Joined:
    May 5, 2007
  3. techlover828 thread starter macrumors 68020

    techlover828

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2007
    #3
    where are those?
     
  4. techlover828 thread starter macrumors 68020

    techlover828

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2007
    #4
    oh, I found them

    Code:
    Thu May 22 19:47:10 2008
    panic(cpu 0 caller 0x001A8C8A): Kernel trap at 0x28400100, type 14=page fault, registers:
    CR0: 0x8001003b, CR2: 0x28400100, CR3: 0x013c7000, CR4: 0x00000660
    EAX: 0x08b16000, EBX: 0x00000020, ECX: 0x28400100, EDX: 0x08b18000
    CR2: 0x28400100, EBP: 0x6481fe98, ESI: 0x00000001, EDI: 0x00000001
    EFL: 0x00010206, EIP: 0x28400100, CS:  0x00000008, DS:  0x00530010
    Error code: 0x00000010
    
    Backtrace, Format - Frame : Return Address (4 potential args on stack) 
    0x6481fc38 : 0x12b0f7 (0x4581f4 0x6481fc6c 0x133230 0x0) 
    0x6481fc88 : 0x1a8c8a (0x461720 0x28400100 0xe 0x460ed0) 
    0x6481fd68 : 0x19ece5 (0x6481fd80 0x7598128 0x6481fe98 0x28400100) 
    0x6481fd78 : 0x28400100 (0xe 0x130048 0x78e0010 0x130010) 
    0x6481fe98 : 0x6d1864 (0xb484800 0x1 0x1 0x1397fc) 
    0x6481ff08 : 0x6d41e3 (0xb484800 0x1 0x1 0x7d548a0) 
    0x6481ff58 : 0x6d02da (0xb484800 0x1 0x1 0x7d548a0) 
    0x6481ff78 : 0x13ea4a (0x12039500 0x0 0x1a236f 0xc1c6410) 
    0x6481ffc8 : 0x19eadc (0x0 0x0 0x1a20b5 0x78ef128) 
    Backtrace terminated-invalid frame pointer 0
          Kernel loadable modules in backtrace (with dependencies):
             com.apple.iokit.IOHIDFamily(1.5.2)@0x6af000->0x6e7fff
    
    BSD process name corresponding to current thread: kernel_task
    
    Mac OS version:
    9C7010
    
    Kernel version:
    Darwin Kernel Version 9.2.2: Tue Mar  4 21:17:34 PST 2008; root:xnu-1228.4.31~1/RELEASE_I386
    System model name: MacBookPro3,1 (Mac-F4238BC8)
    
     
  5. IJ Reilly macrumors P6

    IJ Reilly

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2002
    Location:
    Palookaville
    #5
    There's no evidence of any software issues in your panic log.

    Have you added any RAM?
     
  6. merl1n macrumors 65816

    merl1n

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2008
    Location:
    New Jersey, USA
    #6
    I agree. You may have a bad RAM module. Try removing one and see if you still have the problem. If so, try swapping modules and retest.

    Sometimes just reseating the modules corrects the issue.
     
  7. techlover828 thread starter macrumors 68020

    techlover828

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2007
    #7
    I'll give it a shot, thanks.
     
  8. techlover828 thread starter macrumors 68020

    techlover828

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2007
    #8
    ok, this is getting SOO annoying. I haven't tried to reseat the ram because the screwdriver is at my dads, but I don't think this is related, although I guess it might be.

    Ok, the symptoms:
    *so when I rest my hands on the sides of the trackpad (still like 1" away), where you're supposed to but your hands, the keyboard randomly stops working. At least that's what it seems like is causing it. Although I guess it could just be freezing and the act of lifting my wrists lets it unfreeze and I just think that thats fixing it.

    *I can't drag things without it letting go, and also sometimes when I'm not trying to drag things it does drag and I have to click to let go.

    *sometimes when the keyboard freezes I'll get a bunch of keys and end up hitting one of the function keys and it will get stuck on that key. Like it will be the volume down key and I won't be able to type anything and have to restart.

    *keyboard and trackpad just randomly stop working

    * and obviously the kernel panicks

    As you might imagine, the combination of all of these things has been driving me CRAZY! I'm getting so sick of it. I just want my old MBP back :(

    please help with suggestions, thanks.
     
  9. merl1n macrumors 65816

    merl1n

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2008
    Location:
    New Jersey, USA
    #9

    Now this is starting to sound like you are having a problem with the System board itself. I've seen other threads about pressing on the palm rests as well.

    If your computer is still under warranty, take it to an Apple Store. It needs a repair.
     
  10. techlover828 thread starter macrumors 68020

    techlover828

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2007
    #10
    kind of what I thought. I'll have to wait for the summer thought since I don't have an apple store near me. :(

    I also have a bad lcd and superdrive, maybe they'll just give me a whole new computer.

    edit: will I be ok keeping 3rd party ram in there?
     
  11. IJ Reilly macrumors P6

    IJ Reilly

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2002
    Location:
    Palookaville
    #11
    Did you try pulling that RAM yet? This is definitely worth trying before reaching the conclusion that the motherboard is toasted.
     
  12. techlover828 thread starter macrumors 68020

    techlover828

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2007
    #12
    like I said, I don't have the screwdriver right now, I'll test it on wednesday (my last day of school! :))
     
  13. merl1n macrumors 65816

    merl1n

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2008
    Location:
    New Jersey, USA
    #13
    You don't have to go to an Apple Store if it is under warranty or AppleCare.

    You can call AppleCare (tell them everything that is wrong with the mac) and they can arrange to have mail in service. What they do (once they open a case number) is ship you a box overnight. You pack the mac in the box, seal it (they give you all of the materials), attached the prepaid shipping label and arrange for a pickup. It is then sent overnight to the Apple repair depot. After they make the repairs, they will ship it back to you overnight. There is no cost to you for this service.

    I would also do the RAM thing first (pulling/reseating the modules, pulling one module, swapping modules, etc.) just to eliminate that as a cause for your problems.

    If you have the original Apple ram that came with the computer, I would insert those and test again, just to make sure it is not a RAM issue and I would leave them in the mac when you are set to send it to Apple.
     
  14. techlover828 thread starter macrumors 68020

    techlover828

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2007
    #14
    thanks for all your help, the real problem is I don't want to deal with talking to one of those people from india for three hours when I already know all the problems, just a pain, you know? have you had any experience with the apple care people, dell was horrible
     
  15. merl1n macrumors 65816

    merl1n

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2008
    Location:
    New Jersey, USA
    #15
    I have had many dealings with Applecare and never spoke to anyone outside of the US. And I'm finding them much more knowledgeable than the Geniuses at the Mac Store.

    If you don't like who you speak to, just call back.
     
  16. techlover828 thread starter macrumors 68020

    techlover828

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2007
    #16
    ok, I'll give it a try on wednesday once I test the ram and am done with school.
     
  17. IJ Reilly macrumors P6

    IJ Reilly

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2002
    Location:
    Palookaville
    #17
    The Applecare reps are really only as good as their database. I haven't been terribly impressed with their suggestions in the past (which once included a recommendation to reinstall OSX when the problem was faulty RAM), but you can't open a case number and get your Mac repaired under warranty without calling.
     
  18. techlover828 thread starter macrumors 68020

    techlover828

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2007
    #18
    oh ya, I just thought of another issue, about every 30mins the cd drive icon shows up on the screen and the superdrive gives me a sound like it would if I clicked the key to eject, and also random keys go off like the volume up/down/mute and the display brightness and even other random keys like apple d for bookmark, I don't know whats up, I'm going to get the screwdriver today, but I don't think that's going to do anything sadly. :(
     
  19. IJ Reilly macrumors P6

    IJ Reilly

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2002
    Location:
    Palookaville
    #19
    This may sound like a stupid question, but are you sure you don't have a CD in the drive? I ask only because it should be impossible for the CD icon to show up on the Desktop if you don't have a CD in the drive.
     
  20. techlover828 thread starter macrumors 68020

    techlover828

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2007
    #20
    sorry, I wasn't clear enough, I mean the translusent picture that shows up in the middle of your screen when you hit the eject key.

    So I found the screwdriver and switched the ram, didn't help, guess I'm going to be calling apple on thursday.
     
  21. IJ Reilly macrumors P6

    IJ Reilly

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2002
    Location:
    Palookaville
    #21
    Yup, this looks like a problem for Apple. Let us know how it goes.
     
  22. techlover828 thread starter macrumors 68020

    techlover828

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2007
    #22
    I will, thanks for all your help.
     
  23. techlover828 thread starter macrumors 68020

    techlover828

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2007
    #23
    so I brought it in to the apple store yesterday, there were other problems like the superdrive wasn't working for burning dl disks and the lcd had a line through it. So there sending it out to the repair depot, I'll let you guys no what happened.

    One thing I just thought of, I upgraded the ram on this, and if they for some reason give me a new one am I going to get my ram? I paid $100 for it and if it's gone I'll be really pissed.
     
  24. IJ Reilly macrumors P6

    IJ Reilly

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2002
    Location:
    Palookaville
    #24
    Just tell them, it should not be a problem. I probably would have removed the extra RAM before I turned it in for repair, but that's a lesson for the future I guess.
     
  25. techlover828 thread starter macrumors 68020

    techlover828

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2007
    #25
    who should I tell, they already sent it to the apple repair depot, should I call the main applecare line?
     

Share This Page