MBP Ram Upgrade

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by curiosa863, May 9, 2007.

  1. curiosa863 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2006
    #1
    If i buy some crucial ram, is it installable by user, or will i need to pay for it to be installed? Is applecare voided by a DIY install? Also, why can't you put 2-2gig sticks of ram in? Why is the limit at 3gigs total instead of 4?
     
  2. munckee macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2005
    #2
    It's easily user installed. The warranty isn't voided, but it doesn't cover the new ram or any damage caused directly by the new ram or the installation of it.
     
  3. gr8tfly macrumors 603

    gr8tfly

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2006
    Location:
    ~119W 34N
    #3
    3GB max is a limitation of the chipset.

    per Apple's "RAM Expansion Developer Note: RAM Expansion Product-Specific Details", 4/19/07:

    "Maximum memory capacity is 3 GB. If you install a 2 GB SO-DIMM in both the bottom and top memory slots of the computer, both the About This Mac window and the Apple System Profiler will show that you have 4 GB of SDRAM installed. However, Activity Monitor and other similar applications will reveal that only 3 GB of SDRAM has been addressed for use by the computer.
     
  4. curiosa863 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2006
    #4
    Ok, will this change with the introduction of Santa Rosa? (Santa Rosa is a chipset right?)
     
  5. scienide09 macrumors 65816

    scienide09

    Joined:
    May 5, 2007
    Location:
    Canada
    #5
    I've read that Santa Rosa MBPs are expected to support 4GB of RAM, yes.
     
  6. pcguru83 macrumors 6502a

    pcguru83

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2006
    Location:
    Charlotte, NC
    #6
    I can never remember...

    Would you still get dual-channel memory performance if you installed a 2GB and a 1GB stick into a MBP?
     

Share This Page