MBP + SSD = Profit???

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by roofz, Jan 23, 2012.

1. roofz macrumors regular

Hi everyone, I'm a long time lurker first time poster.

I am looking to buy a macbook notebook, i'm just not sure whether I should get an Air or a Pro. Please help me decide :confused:

Here are some things you should know:

I'm a student of finance / accounting, so I work with multiple excel spreadsheets at a time and use other accounting programs too. I surf the net all the time and like to watch movies and play videos. Large screen resolution is a plus. I take it to class sometimes to take notes, so I need decent battery life.

I currently have a late 2008 MBA :eek::eek: and it has a lot of trouble doing the things I have just described. I like that my MBA is super portable and that it easily fits in my backpack, but neither size nor weight is a determining factor for me as I work out 4 days/week and a little extra weight on my back is no big deal. I definitely want a SSD in my next notebook as I can see the immense benefits it has provided me in this MBA.

I feel that i'm leaning towards the MBA because of the SSD, and the screen size. However, the MBP tempts me with it's superior power and ability to be upgraded if need be.

Thoughts on what I should pull the trigger on? All replies are veryy much appreciated!

2. Krazy Bill macrumors 68030

Krazy Bill

Power-wise... the Air is definitely inferior to the pro. You can always get the MBP and install your own SSD and even more memory. (You can't expand the Air at all).

3. ixodes macrumors 601

ixodes

I've been very satisfied with my 15" MacBook Pro with it's optional hi-res anti-glare display. I too am very fit & strong, so weight is not an issue. I carry it daily. Being much thinner & lighter than the 15" Windows Laptops I used to use, the MBP exudes quality in a compact size.