Megashares Website - Can't Download on OS X or XP

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by John Doe 57, Feb 23, 2009.

  1. John Doe 57 macrumors 65816

    John Doe 57

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2008
    Location:
    Los Angeles, CA
    #1
    I have some links that I need to download but the stupid site keeps telling me that I am already downloading from them! I checked their FAQ section but they gave me answers to question if I were a registered user of Megashares.

    I've tried downloading on my MacBook Pro, My iMac, and Windoze XP via Parallels Desktop - but no luck!
     

    Attached Files:

  2. yellow Moderator emeritus

    yellow

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2003
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    #2
    Sounds & looks like a scam site. Are you 100% sure it's legit?
     
  3. John Doe 57 thread starter macrumors 65816

    John Doe 57

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2008
    Location:
    Los Angeles, CA
    #3
    Yeah cause I already downloaded one file today. It was 350 megabytes in size. Usually there is a timer saying how much time I have to wait until I can download my next file - but there is no such thing!
     
  4. yellow Moderator emeritus

    yellow

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2003
    Location:
    Portland, OR
  5. John Doe 57 thread starter macrumors 65816

    John Doe 57

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2008
    Location:
    Los Angeles, CA
    #5
    Maybe.

    Bastards! It's unfair!
     
  6. finnschi macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2008
    Location:
    Hamburg, Germany
  7. John Doe 57 thread starter macrumors 65816

    John Doe 57

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2008
    Location:
    Los Angeles, CA
    #7
    Oooo. That is a good idea. Thanks.
     
  8. VPrime macrumors 68000

    VPrime

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2008
    Location:
    London Ontario
    #8
    Not if his ISP has a static IP.. Then you just wasted your time.
     
  9. John Doe 57 thread starter macrumors 65816

    John Doe 57

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2008
    Location:
    Los Angeles, CA
    #9
    Consider this thread dead. I found other links to a different site:

    Rapidshare (I've used this one for years)
     
  10. VPrime macrumors 68000

    VPrime

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2008
    Location:
    London Ontario
    #10
    Rapid share is great.
    Check out the program JDownloader, I recently tried it and it is awesome for rapid share.
    You can view your premium account details, add archive passwords (if there are any) and it will extract files for you automatically..
    Plus if you dont have a premium account, It will enter the secuirty string in automatically.
     
  11. John Doe 57 thread starter macrumors 65816

    John Doe 57

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2008
    Location:
    Los Angeles, CA
    #11
    I know. JDownloader is awesome!
     
  12. finnschi macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2008
    Location:
    Hamburg, Germany
    #12
    I hate the Dl limit of 5 Gb /day tho... I use allot more, I mean cmon on Netload I get UNLIMITED !! :D:D:D

    OMG which ISP gives you a static iP ?? I want that :eek::eek::eek: :D:D:D
     
  13. VPrime macrumors 68000

    VPrime

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2008
    Location:
    London Ontario
    #13
    Well mine used to... but now they just lease the IP for a few months.. Close enough ;)

    as for the rapid share 5gb limit, I agree... It used to be sooooo much better before they restructured the whole thing. But now I just get 100gb of traffic share.. and it usually lasts longer than the month.
     
  14. gnasher729 macrumors P6

    gnasher729

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2005
    #14
    O2 in the UK does it for five pound a month extra.
     
  15. kastenbrust macrumors 68030

    kastenbrust

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2008
    Location:
    North Korea
    #15
    Every ISP if you ask.

    Its normally standard if you have business broadband, which is why your ISP asks if your a business or an individual when you sign up.

    Some ISP's make you pay extra but BT doesn't.

    Having a static IP also has disadvantages too :)
     
  16. JustGretchen macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2008
    #16
    or just use usenet..............................ftw
     

Share This Page