Memory Leak on App

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by kuntryklucker, Nov 8, 2013.

1. kuntryklucker macrumors member

kuntryklucker

Hi All,
    I am new to mac and new to the idea of apps in general. Anyway, purchased a new macbook pro. Downloaded some apps from the app store, one review said that a moon phase app has a memory leak. Can someone tell me what that actually means.

Also, in your experience, how safe it is to download apps from the app store on apples desktop? Just wondering, are they virus scanned or protected since it is from apple?

Thanks,
    :)

2. Corrosive vinyl macrumors 6502

Corrosive vinyl

Apple has a standard app store evaluation process that all apps have to pass. There shouldn't be an issue with getting funny things from the app store.

A memory leak is basically the idea that the longer you run an app the more memory is used up or "leaked out". Instead of using the normal 500 mb of RAM it slowly creeps toward using 1GB. If it feels like computer is getting a bit slow, save what you are doing and quit the app. Restart and it should be back to normal.

3. old-wiz macrumors G3

Technially, it means an app acquires memory and then fails to release it. Simply acquiring memory is NOT a leak; the leak is when the app fails to release the memory. I remember dealing with memory leaks before I retired and they could be a real pain to track down. The way it happened the app would just keep getting memory and failing to release it and eventually things would go south. Apps tend to get and release memory quite frequently depending on how they are designed.

4. kuntryklucker thread starter macrumors member

kuntryklucker

Ok, thank you for your description. I had no idea what a memory leak was. As long as it goes back to normal I am fine.

----------