menu bar hiding when in safari. How to disable?

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by Big D 51, Dec 13, 2011.

  1. Big D 51, Dec 13, 2011
    Last edited: Dec 13, 2011

    Big D 51 macrumors 6502a

    Big D 51

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2011
    Location:
    Mobile, AL
    #1
    How do I disable this? I have no earthly idea how I enabled this.

    UPDATE: It is hiding when it is NOT in full screen mode as if it was.
     
  2. zigzagg321 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2011
    Location:
    the wire
    #2
    drag your cursor all the way to the very upper right of your screen and click the blue box with the two arrows in it that are pointing at each other.
     
  3. Big D 51, Dec 13, 2011
    Last edited: Dec 13, 2011

    Big D 51 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Big D 51

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2011
    Location:
    Mobile, AL
    #3
    Thank you for for inputting, but I do not see what you are talking about. Do you?

    This is with cursor not at top so menu bar is hidden:

    Untitled3.png

    This is with cursor by spotlight:

    Untitled2.png

    The second image is what I want it to look like all the time. Other than hiding as if it was in fullscreen mode.
     
  4. zigzagg321 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2011
    Location:
    the wire
  5. r0k macrumors 68040

    r0k

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2008
    Location:
    Detroit
    #5
    Agree. Both pics look normal to me. It's what I see when I use Safari.

    @Big D 51: Can you post an image where you circle the area on the screen where you believe there is something missing?
     
  6. Riverrun macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2007
    Location:
    ~
    #6
    Hi Big D,

    I'm as puzzled as the others. I can only think that you want to disable Dock Hiding. If so, go to the Black Apple Icon on the far left of your screen and click on it. Select Dock/Turn Hiding Off. Alternatively: press cmd + option (alt) + D.
     
  7. Big D 51, Dec 13, 2011
    Last edited: Dec 13, 2011

    Big D 51 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Big D 51

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2011
    Location:
    Mobile, AL
    #7
    Thanks for clearing this as I may be calling it the wrong name. I am speaking of the menu bar usually at the top that has spotlight, battery lift, etc.

    I fixed post #3. I'm retarded. When I created the two screen shots, I didn't realize grab named the files the same; therefore, when I uploaded the second image, it replaced the first one. Sorry.

    See above comment.


    @ALL: Thank you for the replies. Sorry I confused you all and wasted your time. It should be corrected now.

    Now that images are fixed, any idea on how to the menu from hiding?
     
  8. zigzagg321 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2011
    Location:
    the wire
    #8
    I thought he was talking about the dock as well, but I went after the menu bar topic as if he had enabled fullscreen mode.
     
  9. Big D 51, Dec 13, 2011
    Last edited: Dec 13, 2011

    Big D 51 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Big D 51

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2011
    Location:
    Mobile, AL
    #9
    Finally found what you were talking about. The arrows in full screen mode; however, safari isn't in fullscreen mode and its still hiding.

    Still not fixed yet.
     
  10. Elbert C macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2008
    Location:
    AK, USA
    #10
    The only difference I see on the screenshots you posted is that Mac OSX's menu bar is missing in the first screenshot. Does it disappear only when Safari is being used?
     
  11. Big D 51 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Big D 51

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2011
    Location:
    Mobile, AL
    #11
    Yes, exactly. It used to not do this. I must have enabled something accidentally today.
     
  12. Elbert C macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2008
    Location:
    AK, USA
    #12
    Maybe you enabled the "Translucent menu bar" option in System Preferences > Desktop & Screen Saver?

    Again, does it only happen when Safari is being used?

    For starters I'd try a reboot.
    Repair Disk with Disk Utility when booted from the supplied Install Disk.
    Reboot normally and Repair Permissions.

    If that doesn't help I'd then create a new user account, log into it to see if the same issue happens there.
     
  13. saberahul macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2008
    Location:
    USA
    #13
    AFAIK, there is no setting to hide it with only one app being used unless you're in FS mode, which you're not. This is either some glitch with your Safari (makes no sense) or you downloaded something that is causing this. I wish I could be more helpful but I have never ever seen this kind of issue.
     
  14. Big D 51 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Big D 51

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2011
    Location:
    Mobile, AL
    #14
    This fixed it. Strange. I would have never figured that out so thank you. I was thinking the entire time that I accidentally hit some shortcut key.

    Thank you for the kind post. I got it fixed now. Safari must have had a software hiccup.

    Thank you to all who contributed. Little things that I can't figure out like this drives me insane. Got it fixed now! :apple:
     
  15. Elbert C macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2008
    Location:
    AK, USA
    #15
    Mac OS X has occasional perplexing glitches that a simple reboot, running repair disk and/or permissions fixes right up.

    Glad you got it fixed.
     
  16. Grahamh66 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2012
    #16
    Hi, I have the same problem with the top menu bar in Safari always on autohide when in full screen. I've seen your solution to reboot and use a disc but I received no install disc with my new iMac and what does 'repair permissions' mean?
    :confused:
     
  17. Mal macrumors 603

    Mal

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2002
    Location:
    Orlando
    #17
    When in full screen, that's intended behavior. AFAIK, you can't change that. The OP's problem is not related to yours.

    Also, to run Disk Utility in the same way, hold Command-R while restarting to boot into your recovery partition.

    jW
     
  18. weeddds macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2012
    Location:
    Durango, CO
    #18

    And a big thanks to you. Same exact thing just happened to me on my 2009 MBP running 10.7.3. In Safari, the menu bar would auto-hide.....and appear only when I would mouse over it. This was NOT in fullscreen mode. If I'd click on another program the menu bar would re-appear as normal. I restarted and went into disk utility and repaired the HD and problem solved.

    It's easy to think that this would be something you "activated" and that was my first thought. I was blaming my kids....typical "dad" move.
     
  19. googoochummer macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2013
    #19
    You can accidentally toggle status bar invisible

    All you have to do is go up to the upper right corner, as if you were going to click on your notifications or the search spyglass, and accidentally click the two arrows pointing opposite directions. This toggles your status bar invisible. If you want it back, you just bring your cursor to the very top right, as if the bar were still there, and a blue box will appear. Click on it, and it toggles back to visible.
     
  20. simsaladimbamba

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2010
    Location:
    located
    #20
    Come again?
     
  21. Elbert C macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2008
    Location:
    AK, USA
    #21
    I think he's talking about the arrows on the top right side of Safari.
     
  22. simsaladimbamba

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2010
    Location:
    located
    #22
    I know, but why the resurrection posting a solution, that has already been posted a long time before.
     
  23. Elbert C macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2008
    Location:
    AK, USA
    #23
    Maybe to get their post counts up? I seen another person revive an old post that has the same join date as googoochummer.
     
  24. simsaladimbamba

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2010
    Location:
    located
    #24
    Five posts gives you access to PMs, 250 posts and 180 days of membership gets you to the Marketplace and 500 posts gets you an avatar, it is highly unlikely the resurrecting individual of this thread will ever return, as they often do. They register, post one post with already available information in an older, or even much older, thread, where that newly posted information has already been posted once or twice.

    I do not see any spamming links in the signature, there are no hidden images in the post to get web traffic somewhere else and the behaviour is just strange to me.
    I have asked dozens of such resurrectors, and never got a clear answer.

    The only time, or it probably happens again today with another more subtle poster, I saw someone trying to get a higher post count, was someone being registered here for several months or even years and only having 50 or so posts. That member tried to get into the Marketplace and posted "countless" threads and even more posts within an hour, but got banned before reaching 230 posts.
    Never seen that again in such massive explosion.

    And I am off to bed now.
     
  25. mr666 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2009
    #25
    Leaving old topics open

    I can't scold anyone for adding onto an old topic. It should be closed. Doesn't this forum have anyone in charge who knows how to set an automatic closing date for old topics? Most forums have this setup from day one, so you can't add on to an old topic even if you wanted to. Instead, these MacRumors guys spend a lot of time shaming people for simply assuming that a topic is still open, since... well, since it is not closed. They draw a line in the sand, but don't tell you where the line is.

    I wonder how many hours these moderators spend scolding folks for late-posting, when they could simply set an auto-closing period in about an hour of programming.
     

Share This Page