Merry Christmas and happy holidays to all. (For me as well) :-)

Discussion in 'PowerPC Macs' started by appleish19, Dec 21, 2015.

  1. appleish19 macrumors regular

    appleish19

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2014
    #1
    image.jpeg image.jpeg Merry Christmas and happy holidays everyone. Hopefully everyone is having a very PowerPC time of year. :)
    Some of my Christmas presents just got here.
    I found a 1.42 GHz eMac G4, 1.67 GHz DLSD 15 inch PowerBook G4 and a 1.5 GHz PowerBook G4 12 inch. Can't wait to get everything set up and going. Need to get a new desk to fit my new additions :D

    Any recommendations for any of these?
     
  2. appleish19 thread starter macrumors regular

    appleish19

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2014
  3. MacCubed macrumors 68000

    MacCubed

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2014
    Location:
    Florida
    #3
    Lucky for you that those are both of the last-gen PowerBook G4s! They're also in really nice shape! As for the eMac, I would use it as an iTunes/Spotify machine
     
  4. appleish19 thread starter macrumors regular

    appleish19

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2014
    #4
    Thanks. Yeah they are in great shape:D I'm surprised the speakers in the eMac sound really good. I'm thinking of putting msata ssds in the PowerBooks? Heard they speed them up. Even with the hard drives the PowerBooks are pretty fast I'm surprised
     
  5. MacCubed macrumors 68000

    MacCubed

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2014
    Location:
    Florida
    #5
    I have an mSATA in my DLSD 15", really speeds everything up. Does yours have the BTO 100GB 7200RPM hard drive? Mine did, but it crashed 2 days after I got the PB running. I threw in a crappy 4200RPM 30GB drive, so the speed difference compared to that was night and day!
     
  6. MacCubed macrumors 68000

    MacCubed

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2014
    Location:
    Florida
    #6
    Another thing, bump the RAM! I found after upgrading from 1GB to 2GB of RAM, I was using 1.25GB of RAM, so it perked things up a bit
     
  7. appleish19 thread starter macrumors regular

    appleish19

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2014
    #7
    It came with 2 GB. :) i'll definitely look into the msata ssd. Came with the 120GB 5400.
     
  8. MacCubed macrumors 68000

    MacCubed

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2014
    Location:
    Florida
    #8
    I recommend the Aleratec mSATA Adapter, (http://www.aleratec.com/msata-ssd-t...rive-converter-adapter-with-frame-250298.html) It uses the Marvell chipset, which is the crown jewel of the mSATA chipsets. Although this adapter is expensive, it is the best one on the market, I have one in my PB with a 128GB SanDisk SSD
     
  9. appleish19 thread starter macrumors regular

    appleish19

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2014
    #9
    Awesome thanks! I didn't know about which adapters. Would putting on in the eMac be straightforward?
     
  10. MacCubed macrumors 68000

    MacCubed

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2014
    Location:
    Florida
    #10
  11. appleish19 thread starter macrumors regular

    appleish19

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2014
    #11
  12. MacCubed macrumors 68000

    MacCubed

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2014
    Location:
    Florida
    #12
    It is dangerous, you just need to discharge it properly. Look for the Apple Service guide online
     
  13. appleish19 thread starter macrumors regular

    appleish19

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2014
    #13
    I will. I might have a local Mac service center do it.
     
  14. MacCubed macrumors 68000

    MacCubed

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2014
    Location:
    Florida
    #14
    I would do it on my own, I just recommend being careful!
     
  15. appleish19 thread starter macrumors regular

    appleish19

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2014
    #15
    Definitely. I appreciate it. :) How is your quad running these days?
     
  16. appleish19 thread starter macrumors regular

    appleish19

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2014
    #16
    Also thinking about getting an Apple Cinema display for the powerbook.
     
  17. MacCubed macrumors 68000

    MacCubed

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2014
    Location:
    Florida
    #17
    The Quad is running great! After I got my Cube I switched my setup around a bit went from this:
    IMG_0241.jpg

    To this:
    image.jpeg

    The Quad is the cabinet now, and the temps are quite normal, around 45C idle! Surprised me a bit
     
  18. appleish19 thread starter macrumors regular

    appleish19

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2014
    #18
    Nice Ti book. I've got a look at getting one of those now as well as a cube. Maybe next month or the one after. :D Yeah I definitely got to switch my set up around as well to fit these new macs.
     
  19. MacCubed macrumors 68000

    MacCubed

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2014
    Location:
    Florida
    #19
    I would be interested in improving mine a bit, considering dual 20" Cinemas, 1 connected to my Quad, and the other connected to my Quad and the Cube VIA a switch
     
  20. appleish19 thread starter macrumors regular

    appleish19

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2014
    #20
    I'm thinking of tool 20 inch cinemas is well. Would love to move 30 inch ones but they are as much as a thunderbolt display. I figure 20 inches of screen real estate is enough.
     
  21. MacCubed macrumors 68000

    MacCubed

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2014
    Location:
    Florida
    #21
    23" would be the sweet spot for me. The TV on my desk is 32" so I can't fathom how large a 30" cinema would be
     
  22. appleish19 thread starter macrumors regular

    appleish19

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2014
    #22
    I'm using a 32 inch TV as well. But the 720P resolution is killer on my eyes.
     
  23. MacCubed macrumors 68000

    MacCubed

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2014
    Location:
    Florida
    #23
    Not too sure what res mine is running at, but mine supports only 2 "good" resolutions for its size. One is a bit on the small side, the other is too large. I just wish there was something in-between, there is one I like, but it is interlaced, so its a no go.
     
  24. appleish19 thread starter macrumors regular

    appleish19

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2014
    #24
    My tv I'm using as a member monitor is only 720p max. The 20 inch Cinema Display has decent ppi.
     
  25. MacCubed macrumors 68000

    MacCubed

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2014
    Location:
    Florida
    #25
    I would consider the 20" because it is relatively smaller than my TV, so I can fit 2, possibly 3 on my desk. They would blend right in! Another option for me would be to leave the TV and pick up a 17/15" Acrylic Studio display to match my Cube. The ASD would replace the Samsung display that is currently on the right of my desk
     

Share This Page