Message: iPhone needs to be restored - but i cant! Please help :)

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by Nipz, May 5, 2010.

  1. Nipz macrumors 65816

    Nipz

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2006
    Location:
    UK
    #1
    Hi guys,

    well after a while without any signal my 3GS with latest firmware have just told me to restore it. When i try to connect to my itunes it says because i have a passcode it wont restore. Only problem is i cant enter my passcode anyway. The screen is on the emergency calls only.

    Need my phone for business and have no idea what to do

    Any ideas would be great :)

    Thanks
     
  2. Nipz thread starter macrumors 65816

    Nipz

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2006
    Location:
    UK
    #2
    Ok i was holding the home button whiles trying to restart my phone and its all back to normal!!

    weird!
     
  3. STEVESKI07 macrumors 68000

    STEVESKI07

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2009
    Location:
    Washington, DC
    #3
    I'm glad I could help ;)

    On a side note, I think if I were you I'd restore my phone whenever you have free time to help prevent whatever glitch may have just happened from happening again.
     
  4. Nipz thread starter macrumors 65816

    Nipz

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2006
    Location:
    UK
    #4
    Thanks :) lol

    Best to start as new? Last time i backed up was yesterday and was fine then?
     
  5. -aggie- macrumors P6

    -aggie-

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2009
    Location:
    Where bunnies are welcome.
    #5
    Always best to start as new, if you have everything synced and don't care about game saves.

    BTW, I hate your avatar! When I first saw it, I was about to shoo away the bug on my screen. :eek::D
     
  6. Nipz thread starter macrumors 65816

    Nipz

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2006
    Location:
    UK
    #6
    Thanks for that!

    Im glad you secretly like my avatar :D still confuses me :rolleyes:
     
  7. jav6454 macrumors P6

    jav6454

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2007
    Location:
    1 Geostationary Tower Plaza
    #7
    You aren't the first one to fall for that one.
     
  8. Nipz thread starter macrumors 65816

    Nipz

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2006
    Location:
    UK
    #8
    Ok after a full clean restore this morning its done it again.

    Loses signal then after a restart asks to be plugged into iTunes!
     
  9. hexonxonx macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2007
    Location:
    Denver Colorado
    #9
    Is there any error in iTunes after restoring?
     
  10. Nipz thread starter macrumors 65816

    Nipz

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2006
    Location:
    UK
    #10
    The first time i tried there was (cant remember what it was, very annoyed at this point :)) the second time i tried it worked fine.

    Apple told me to reset the network settings and see if that helps!

    Stupid phone, bring on the new one!
     
  11. -aggie- macrumors P6

    -aggie-

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2009
    Location:
    Where bunnies are welcome.
  12. Nipz thread starter macrumors 65816

    Nipz

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2006
    Location:
    UK
    #12
    You think thats why its losing signal and not letting the phone activate?
     
  13. -aggie- macrumors P6

    -aggie-

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2009
    Location:
    Where bunnies are welcome.
    #13
    Could be. AT&T has had to replace sims before. They'll give it to you for free, so might as well.
     
  14. Nipz thread starter macrumors 65816

    Nipz

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2006
    Location:
    UK
    #14
    All ordered :)
     
  15. Nipz thread starter macrumors 65816

    Nipz

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2006
    Location:
    UK
    #15
    [​IMG]

    Ok thats a picture of the message!

    It keeps happening! Really annoying me now! After it happens i have to sync with iTunes to let all my downloaded apps work on my phone. Apple said they wont work because it doesnt know what account they are from!

    Every time it happens holding the home button seams to sort it!

    Any more ideas please?
     
  16. Nipz thread starter macrumors 65816

    Nipz

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2006
    Location:
    UK
    #16
    Ok i got my new sim on monday. Everything worked great until tonight!!!

    Phone went dead again and after 30 mins of off and on i got it working (no idea how again) worked for 10 mins received calls and texts and then dead! Got home and restored it. Got a error message (23), tried again and it didnt error... until iTunes says there isnt a Sim in the phone (which there is - my new one) and it cant active until there is!

    Any ideas guys and girls? Think i need to take an hour drive to an apple store tomorrow to get a new one!
     
  17. Gizmo 76 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2009
    #17
    I had the same thing a couple of weeks back, died while using TomTom, then error 23 and wouldn't restore at all.

    Ended up with Apple replacing the handset. Seem to be linked to a hardware fault relating to a communication board.
     
  18. hexonxonx macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2007
    Location:
    Denver Colorado
    #18
    Error 23 is a hardware failure meaning the radios in the iPhone have failed. This means there is no 3G, no edge, no bluetooth and no WiFi. No amount of restoring can fix this. It's still under warranty so Apple will replace it. I had this happen last August, just two months after buying my 3GS.
     
  19. Nipz thread starter macrumors 65816

    Nipz

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2006
    Location:
    UK
    #19
    Awesome. Thanks for your help :) just what I needed to hear :)
     

Share This Page