Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

Ambrosia7177

macrumors regular
Original poster
Mar 22, 2023
Hello. I am new to MacRumors, and really glad I found this website.

Am having lots of Mac problems lately, so maybe you all can help me out?

My first question is this...

I use Carbon Copy Cloner (CCC) to backup my old Mac running Big Sur.

If I get a new MacBook Pro with whatever is the latest OS, will my backup be of any se on the new Mac?

Obviously restoring a backup on the same machine should work, but I worry that going from an old Intel-based MBP with an old OS to a new Silicon chipset and an OS that is at least a cuple versions newer might make my CCC backup not work. Or, maybe it will be a problem because it is like trying to install Windows 95 onto a brand new PC.

How hard will a migration be? And might I be forced to just copy over my data files and have to lose all of my apps and app settings and preferences with such a large migration?

Worried about this... :confused:

Fishrrman

macrumors Penryn
Feb 20, 2009
The CCC backup you use now is PERFECT for migrating to the new Mac.

When the new MBP comes, do it this way:
1. Take the MBP out of the box.
2. DO NOT OPEN THE LID YET (because it will boot as soon as you open the lid and ask to begin setup). Hold on just a bit.
3. Connect your backup. You will need either a USBa-to-USBc cable or a USBc "adapter" like this:
(these are VERY handy to have, get TWO of them)
4. NOW open the lid for the very first time
5. The MBP will boot to the setup assistant. Start "clicking through".
6. When SA asks if you wish to migrate from another drive, YES, you do.
7. So... "point the way" to the backup
8. Give SA time to "digest" everything. It may take a few minutes
9. SA will present you with a list of stuff to migrate:
apps
accounts
settings
data

10. NOW YOU HAVE A CHOICE TO MAKE.