Migration assistant on new Mini

Discussion in 'Mac mini' started by steve2112, Sep 11, 2012.

  1. steve2112 macrumors 68040

    steve2112

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2009
    Location:
    East of Lyra, Northwest of Pegasus
    #1
    So, I just picked up a new 2011 Mini to replace my 2009 model. The 2009 model is still running Snow Leopard, while the new one will have Mountain Lion. I want to use Migration Assistant to move all my stuff to the new one, but I don't have a spare keyboard/mouse/monitor to run both at the same time. I've always done the migration via Target Disk Mode or over the network, but I can't have both running at the same time.

    I do backup the 2009 Mini via CCC to an external drive. Can I use Migration Assistant to move everything from the image on the external drive?
     
  2. blevins321 macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2010
    Location:
    Winnipeg, MB
    #2
    You can still do target mode I think. Use your keyboard to start it up holding the keystroke. Then just plug back into your new mini to run assistant?
     
  3. philipma1957 macrumors 603

    philipma1957

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2010
    Location:
    Howell, New Jersey
    #3
    this should work and it is safer

    this should also work but has a bit more risk
     
  4. steve2112 thread starter macrumors 68040

    steve2112

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2009
    Location:
    East of Lyra, Northwest of Pegasus
    #4
    Should I use the setup assistant or migration assistant? I know setup can only be done at first boot, but I think migration assistant can be run later, right?
     
  5. msbdude macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2012
    Location:
    baja california norte
    #5
    migration asst can be run at any time after initial setup....
     
  6. comatory macrumors 6502a

    comatory

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2012
    #6
    Setup assistant is better IMHO. I once did a fresh install, created an account with same name as old and then used migration assistant to migrate the old data.

    It won't allow you to easily merge the accounts and if it does, there are problems with that. Also using setup assistant, all the license codes for software were in place where using the migration I had to re-enter them.

    It seems that Setup assistant is safer even though they are basically the same.
     
  7. philipma1957 macrumors 603

    philipma1957

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2010
    Location:
    Howell, New Jersey
    #7
    i run the migration a day later. why? just in case there is something wrong I know it is not a program I migrated. I do a lot of these machines and once in a while a new machine has a problem 1 in 40 or 1 in 50. If you did a setup or even a migration as fast as possible and add 8gb ram. If there is a problem you don't know if it came that way. I like to boot and run for about 10 min or so with the machine upside down and the black cover off. Loose fan wire is common out of the box problem. once i see the fan spins and the machine runs. I add the ram I almost always give 2011 minis 8gb ram. I then set it on the base and run for an hour or two. If I am selling the machine I run rember ram test.

    At this point I would clone my old mini to an hdd. Then do migration the next day. There is an option about using a hdd/timemachine to mirgrate to the new mini.
     
  8. steve2112 thread starter macrumors 68040

    steve2112

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2009
    Location:
    East of Lyra, Northwest of Pegasus
    #8
    Cool, thanks for all the tips! I was going to go with 8GB, but around Labor Day, Newegg had a sale going on, and I ended up getting 16GB of Corsair RAM for $75.
     
  9. steve2112 thread starter macrumors 68040

    steve2112

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2009
    Location:
    East of Lyra, Northwest of Pegasus
    #9
    OK, I tested the hardware and everything was ok. I then ran Migration Assistant today. All my stuff from the CCC clone is on the new Mini, but it didn't import any of my documents or iTunes library. I have a folder named CCC Archives, I can see all my stuff in it. The problem is that when I look under my username in the clone image, the new Mini tells me I Can't open the Music folder, for example, because I don't have permission. I have nothing in my iTunes or Documents on the new one.

    Any ideas?
     

Share This Page