Mini 2011 with 2GB Ram - Constant swapping - Bad idea

Discussion in 'Mac mini' started by erpetao, Jul 23, 2011.

  1. erpetao macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2011
    #1
    I just got a 2011 with 2GB ram, and I'm using it while my 8GB arrive from OWC, and it's PAINFULLY slow, specially when compared to a 2010 MBP.

    You'll start using swap with just a few apps opened (firefox+mail+safari) and from there you are doomed.

    I would advise nobody to get the 2GB unless they plan to upgrade manually.



    Sent from my HTC HD2 using Tapatalk
     
  2. srf4real macrumors 68030

    srf4real

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2006
    Location:
    paradise beach FL
    #2
    I really am surprised at Apple's willingness to ship teh base model with minimum ram requirements to run Lion barely met. As cheap as 2x2GB sticks go for nowadays, why risk unhappy customers? Especially unhappy switchers...

    Ah well, it is the easiest upgrade on the face of the earth for anyone who's not scared to unscrew something.;)
     
  3. henry72 macrumors 65816

    henry72

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2009
    Location:
    New Zealand
    #3
    Yeah I agree with you. Apple products is all about user experience, they should make every Mac come with 4GB as a standard. I reckon the base 11" MacBook Air should have 4GB Ram as well because they can't upgrade it afterward.
     
  4. wolfpackfan macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2007
    Location:
    Cary, NC
    #4
    Strange. I have a 2009 mini with 2GB and Lion is running fine on it. And that is with 2 users logged in. I am typically running Mail, Safari and iTunes at the same time.
     
  5. erpetao thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2011
    #5
    Could you go to Applications -> Utilities -> Activity monitor and then to the "System memory" section and check the "Swap used" value?

    While doing quite a few things, mine went up to 1.8GB.
     
  6. Mak47 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2011
    Location:
    Harrisburg, PA
    #6
    I agree that 2GB is not enough RAM. I think the point with the entry level Mini however was to provide a low price point, understanding that most users will upgrade on their own. This makes the 4GB RAM options a waste if you're going to 8GB, which I think most upgraders will do.

    I did it with my MBP, and now have 4GB of RAM sitting around doing nothing--still had to buy 8GB. The same will happen when I order the new RAM for my Mini server.

    Starting with 2GB gives truly low-end users an adequate machine, while still keeping costs lower for those who just want to upgrade on their own.
     
  7. philipma1957 macrumors 603

    philipma1957

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2010
    Location:
    Howell, New Jersey
    #7
    yeah the new mini won't run correctly with 2gb ram.. In my thread that shows how to put in a 256gb ssd when I finished the task I ran handbrake and safari with 1 window open I had endless pageouts/swaps the saving grace was I had the big ssd in so they were not as slow as a 5400rpm oem hdd would be. When I opened monitor utility to look at ram use 1.99gb the entire handbrake run.

    The nexT day I put in 8gb ram. I got it at newegg 24 dollars a stick.

    (sold out)

    I ran the same handbrake with the one safari page open and monitor utility. My page outs were 0 my ram use was 3.58 to 3.65 out of the 8gb. So 4gb is an absolute need with the mini. Once you go to buy the 4gb it runs about 40 for 2 sticks of 2gb so you may as well get 8gb if you are usa based.


    here is a link 55 for 8gb

    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16820231342


    here is a link for 35 a stick or 70 for the pair this company has a lot of coupons but right now

    "CHAMPS" Gives 15 bucks off 200 so they are good if you want ram and other stuff. I will look for a better coupon.
     
  8. Tulpa macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 11, 2011
    #8
    Most base-mini buyers are not going to have the technical confidence to upgrade the RAM. (yes, I know it's simple, but a lot of people would be terrified of unscrewing the base and sticking their fingers into all that electronic-looking stuff.)

    Having Safari, Mail, and iTunes open at the same time is not entering the realm of power users. Apple really screwed up by putting only 2GB in...they're going to piss off a lot of new users who probably won't understand why the computer runs so slow.
     
  9. philipma1957 macrumors 603

    philipma1957

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2010
    Location:
    Howell, New Jersey
    #9
    yeah that just about sums it up.
     
  10. erpetao thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2011
    #10
    Got my 8GB from OWC! Sweet!

    So far so good, this is another story. Opened aperture, browsed through the photos, went full screen, opened mail, firefox, safari, and other apps.

    System monitor shows now 4.69GB of ram used.
     
  11. philipma1957 macrumors 603

    philipma1957

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2010
    Location:
    Howell, New Jersey
    #11

    yeah seems like the new minis like to use ram at least the 8gb options are low priced.

    really good price below;

    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produ...m_sp=ProductSpotlight-_-20-231-295-_-07272011
     
  12. madman962 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2011
    #12

    Philip, thank you for the link but this review has me scared:

    Has anyone tried the 10666 ram as opposed to the 10600 ram? I would assume the mac would just underclock the 10666 ram but above he makes it sounds like that's not the case.
     
  13. philipma1957 macrumors 603

    philipma1957

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2010
    Location:
    Howell, New Jersey
    #13
    you are not reading the review correctly. he has a machine that wants pc3 8500 ram or 1067MHz or 1066 MHz he has a 2010 .





    The mini 2011 is pc3 10666 or pc3 10600 or 1333MHz this ram is 1333MHz.



    it is a very good price and it should work. 10666 10600 are only due to rounding 1333Mhz is really 1333.33333333333333 on and on so 8 x 1333 is 10664 they just round it down to 10600


    It can be a bit confusing if you have a 1 tb hdd some systems say it is 941gb all rounding systems and no standard. this ram has no need to down clock from 10666 to 10600. BTW I ordered 10 sticks so it better work!
     

Share This Page