Missing Macintosh Hd - [Windows 10Update ]

Discussion in 'Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac' started by FilipeReis, Apr 10, 2018.

  1. FilipeReis macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2018
    #1
    In order to sucessefully install windows 10 update, i had to resize bootcamp partiton with AIOMEI tools. However when the update was finish, [and only after reboot + Alt] there was only Bootcamp partition without Macintosh Hd option. Now I can´t acess Mac OS. Any solutions ?


    Same discussion here. https://discussions.apple.com/message/33268724?start=15&tstart=0


    Thanks in advance.
     
  2. chscag macrumors 68030

    chscag

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2008
    Location:
    Fort Worth, Texas
    #2
    I have no idea what the AIOMEI tools are supposed to do. The only Boot Camp resizing tools that I trust are CampTune from Paragon Software or WinClone. You're probably going to need to boot to Recovery (Command + R) and reinstall macOS. That should not overwrite your macOS data but it probably means you'll need to reinstall Windows 10. If you can, use WinClone to backup your Windows 10 installation first.

    I'm assuming that in order to boot to macOS that you tried to reset the boot order from the Windows 10 Control Panel Boot Camp app?
     
  3. chrfr macrumors 604

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2009
    #3
    It sounds likely that you overwrote your Mac partition with your Windows data.
     
  4. FilipeReis thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2018
    #4
    In a order to update windows 10 i had to resized partition [with AIOMEI tool], otherwise windows don´t install, so I check one video as I indicated in the discussion [apple forum]. However when i reboot Apple macintosh partition desapear. I also try with Command R but I only have bootcamp partition and more two disks01 and 02 . I don´t have time machine enable and it seems i don´t have recovery HD. So i´m not sure what i need to do. If i choose to reinstall Mac os X [it strange once indicate Yosemite - not sure why once i have High sierra installed ] I only have the bootcamp partition option available. So i feel if i decide to reinstall I Will lose both operating systems.
     
  5. chscag macrumors 68030

    chscag

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2008
    Location:
    Fort Worth, Texas
    #5
    OK, I think that member "chrfr" is correct in that you installed Windows 10 over your macOS installation. You have no choice now but to start over: Erase the drive, make sure it's all one partition, format it as HFS+ GUID, reinstall macOS and afterward you can worry about reinstalling Windows 10.

    You've already lost macOS if you overwrote it with Windows. And you can use WinClone to backup your Windows partition if it will work. Otherwise you will have lost both macOS and Windows.
     

Share This Page