ML 10.8.4 on vmware

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by johnitravolta, Jun 28, 2013.

  1. johnitravolta macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2009
    #1
    hello,

    i don't know if this is the right place but i'd be glad if you helped me.

    i'm kinda new to osx.
    the osx runs on a very low resolution and i would like to change it, when i open the displays settings i cannot choose any resolution other than 1024x768.

    my pc runs with nvidia 9600GT.
    i don't even know if there's drivers for mac (couldn't find in nvidias site)

    well anyway... just want to get the resolution higher so if you know how to help me i'd be glad.

    thanks
     
  2. chrfr macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2009
    #2
    You need to install the VMWare Tools from the "Virtual Machine" menu.
     
  3. johnitravolta thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2009
    #3
    it says that it could not find components on the update server.

    what else do you offer?
     
  4. chrfr macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2009
    #4
    What version of VMWare fusion are you using?
     
  5. johnitravolta thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2009
  6. fhall1 macrumors 68040

    fhall1

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2007
    Location:
    (Central) NY State of mind
    #6
    The latest is v5
     
  7. maflynn Moderator

    maflynn

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2009
    Location:
    Boston
    #7
    Actually Vmware workstation is at version 9, Vmware fusion is version 5.
     
  8. chrfr macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2009
    #8
    Well that didn't clear much up. :)
    Edit: actually, I guess it does clear things up since the OP mentioned his PC is using an Nvidia card.
     
  9. johnitravolta thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2009
    #9
    you say that some of nvidia graphic cards are not supported by OSX ?
    and if it wasn't clear i run win 8 on my pc, installed there vmware workstation version 9 and setup ML on a virtual machine.
     
  10. gnasher729 macrumors P6

    gnasher729

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2005
    #10
    If that runs with VMWare software out of the box, then I'm sure Apple's lawyers will have a word with VMWare's lawyers. Doesn't matter whether some graphics card is supported or not; you have no license to run MacOS X on your PC.
     
  11. CylonGlitch macrumors 68030

    CylonGlitch

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2009
    Location:
    SoCal
    #11
    VMWare does NOT run OSX out of the box, it needs to be made to work, and it can be done. But not something I think is valid for this forums.
     

Share This Page