MMS Notification from ATT

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by daytoncj, Aug 5, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. daytoncj macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2009
    #1
    So I just received a popup (may have been a push notification) from ATT stating "To Receive MMS, you must input your phone number to your settings. Please click Open to go to your settings". I was too dumb to take a screenshot of it and may be incorrectly quoting the exact message. But it was very similar to the above quote. Anyone else get this? Is this old news? Is MMS actually here? I tested it and it still stopped at 95% and failed.
     
  2. daytoncj thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2009
    #2
    I'm just hoping it wasnt a fluke or accident on ATT's part. Very weird. I've looked everywhere online to see if anybody has seen this. Seems odd that nobody else has.
     
  3. clearchaos macrumors regular

    clearchaos

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2009
    #3
    did you "input your phone number to your settings" ?
    where would you even put it?
     
  4. samcraig macrumors P6

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2009
    #4
    Unless AT&T can push a carrier update to the iphone without any activity on your behalf - then MMS won't suddenly "work". It would take a download via itunes or whatever to get the new carrier file. Correct?
     
  5. SFStateStudent macrumors 604

    SFStateStudent

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2007
    Location:
    San Francisco California, USA
  6. Jumpie macrumors 6502a

    Jumpie

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2008
    Location:
    Atlanta
    #6
    Can you go into your settings and see what they are and post a screen cap? It would be under Settings>General>Network>Cellular Data Network (if available) and let us know.
     
  7. PhightinPhils26 macrumors 6502a

    PhightinPhils26

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2007
    Location:
    Philly
  8. HDJulie macrumors demi-goddess

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2008
    Location:
    Little Rock, AR
    #8
    Settings->Phone->My Number maybe?

    Oops, guess not
     
  9. James.123 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2009
    #9
    didn't receive any message yet... I wish it were true :( Too good to be true with AT&T
     
  10. daytoncj thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2009
    #10
    I know, I know... a screenshot would've been believable but I'm an idiot and got excited and hit open. It took me directly to settings<phone. My number is listed there. I just checked the data settings and they aren't set up. Keep in mind I downloaded the carrier file from the benM website to have access to the tethering option. I'm updating the mms carrier settings now. if anyone has reliable settings please post.
     
  11. muledogus macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2009
  12. Scooterman1 macrumors 6502a

    Scooterman1

    Joined:
    May 15, 2008
    Location:
    Houston, Tx
    #12
    If you received a message, open SMS, and read what it says. The messages don't evaporate in smoke. It should still be there. And it shouldn't be under a regular phone number. If it is, someone's playing a joke on you.
     
  13. daytoncj thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2009
    #13
    I hit the camera next to the message box, selected a pic, tried to send. didnt work. same as its always been. just stops sending and fails at about 95%. let me try some settings to see if that was it.
     
  14. daytoncj thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2009
    #14
    it wasnt a text. it was like a push notification from AP, or AIM. it goes away after you select open, close, whatever.
     
  15. PhightinPhils26 macrumors 6502a

    PhightinPhils26

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2007
    Location:
    Philly
    #15
    Did you try power cycling your phone?
     
  16. muledogus macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2009
    #16
    It does if it was a flash sms. Well, not in smoke but you know...
     
  17. Scooterman1 macrumors 6502a

    Scooterman1

    Joined:
    May 15, 2008
    Location:
    Houston, Tx
    #17
    Press you Home AND Power button at the same time to get the screen shot.
     
  18. muledogus macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2009
    #18
    Gotcha, I notice on your last post, after I posted that question that you said you updated your carrier file. Then it all made sense.
     
  19. DeuceDeuce macrumors 6502a

    DeuceDeuce

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2007
    Location:
    San Dimas, CA
    #19
    I got it too!!! :eek: ;)
     

    Attached Files:

  20. daytoncj thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2009
    #20
    I'm aware of the screenshot function. The problem is i didnt take it while the message was on the screen. It's gone. Ugh, that really pisses me off. It could mean nothing, it could mean anything. If anyone gets this message please let me know.
     
  21. daytoncj thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2009
    #21
    YESSSSS! Thank god someone else got it. I was so frustrated. Unfortunately, at this point i'm not sure it means anything.
     
  22. PhightinPhils26 macrumors 6502a

    PhightinPhils26

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2007
    Location:
    Philly
    #22
    interesting... What are the odds we'll see an official release tonight?
     
  23. Acevesx macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2008
    #23
    have you had someone send you a pic message? it does say to receive
     
  24. James.123 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2009
  25. co.ag.2005 macrumors 65816

    co.ag.2005

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2009
    Location:
    Fort Worth, TX
    #25
    How do you "click OPEN" on the iPhone lock screen? I know you can "slide to unlock"...
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page